PC Freezing WIth Multimedia and Games

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by steelodon, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. steelodon

    steelodon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the PC configuration below:

    AMD Phenom II 920 AM2+
    4GB DDR2 6400 Corsair XMS memory
    EVGA 730a Motherboard
    OCZ GameXStream 600W Power Supply
    Point of View 8800GTS 640MB
    WD 640GB SATA II HDD
    WD 250GB IDE HDD

    Whenever I try to play high definition video files and games such as TF2, Batman: AA, etc. the computer freezes or the video/game is very choppy. Any suggestions? Also when the desktop refreshes it goes black for about a second sometimes. Also high def images and streaming video like YouTube also freezes.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Freezing Multimedia Games Forum Date
    Computer freezing after boot in a very particular way - possible boot drive failure? Computer Help Feb 13, 2017
    Notebook freezes after swapping HDD with SSD Computer Help Jan 18, 2017
    PC freezes when typing during game Computer Help Dec 4, 2016
    Windows Explorer hanging after waking laptop from sleep. Computer Help Oct 25, 2016
    multimedia audio controller and other stuff Computer Help Jun 29, 2006

  3. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the latest Videocard drivers installed? If not, I would update those first
     
  4. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,329
    Likes Received:
    72
    Did this start recently, or has the computer always been this way?
     
  5. steelodon

    steelodon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the setup in a Coolermaster Elite 300 case. The issue started occurring recently. The previous RAM was Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2 x 1GB and Patriot 2 x 1GB 6400 DDR2.
     
  6. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    I take this to mean you recently upgraded the memory? Does it still do this with the old memory modules installed?

    Are you by any chance overclocking? Also, what are the specific Corsair part numbers for the memory you are now running?

    Were it me, I'd try to run an extended MEMTEST86+ session on each module, one at a time. Also, check the module voltages and timings in the BIOS to ensure that they are being detected properly. Another thing to check is to see if you had a recent video card driver update. If so, try to remove the driver and reinstall it. If this doesn't work, roll back the driver to a prior release in case there is a bug in the current driver affecting your system.
     
  7. steelodon

    steelodon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, it was freezing with the old memory as well. I'm not overclocking. I'll have to check the part numbers for the Corsair RAM.
     
  8. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAM voltage set to 1.8 ~ 1.85? How are the RAM timings? Chipset drivers current?
     
  9. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    30
    Try getting Prime95 and test using in-place large FFTs.

    You mobo's caps might be going bad.
     
  10. steelodon

    steelodon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe that my Phenom II 920 was causing the issue. Placed an Athlon 5600+ on the board and no issues. The Phenom II was actually an OEM version. Now I have to figure out if the processor has an issue or the motherboard just didn't agree with the processor.