Question Pc cleaning

Nawabu.u

Feb 17, 2021
1.What is the best way to clean ram,motherboard,psu if compressed air can is not available?

2.Can I clean the upper part of the ram,motherboard with compressed air can?
Why iam asking this question because sometimes when I use air can liquid comes out.
Does it damage electronic components in ram and motherboard?

3.what is the use of 99%ipa other than removing thermal paste from processor?

Last edited:

balloonshark

Diamond Member
Jun 5, 2008
Can you answer second and third question.
Also any other cheaper way than electric duster?
Keep in mind I'm not an expert.

2. https://www.techsupportforum.com/th...rays-out-from-a-can-of-compressed-air.918298/

3. I was told to use a piece of coffee filter to gently wipe as much thermal paste away as I could. After doing that lightly dampen another piece of coffee filter with 99% isopropyl alcohol to remove the rest of the paste and repeating the procedure until the CPU is clean with a final clean before new paste application. I think 85% ipa was ok to use also but it's been a while.

I personally don't like using anything but air to dust the inside of my PC. I don't like dusting with anything that could cause a static discharge which could kill a component. I have taken a vacuum sweeper hose with a soft brush attachment to gently clean a really dirty CPU heatsink before but it's best to regularly keep everything clean with air so it doesn't get to the point of physically removing dust and dirt.

mindless1

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001