P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 - New builder, SSD questions; help me spend some money...

cmykpro

Dec 19, 2011
Howdy guys, I finished up my P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 2600k build a couple days ago and it is fantastic (16 gigs of RAM for post processing images is glorious). I have some SSD questions I was hoping to get some advice on. I currently have one Intel X-25m 80gig that I use as the windows drive. I also have two 500gig 7200spin drives in RAID0 that I put programs on and use as a scratch disk for Photoshop. I have been noticing that photoshop will studder like its waiting on the raid drive to almost wake up? At the same time there is a split second where an icon appears in the bottom right like something just happened. I almost wonder if it is the intel drive program?
Anywho Im far from an expert and am trying to figure out if I have settings wrong for the array or perhaps plugged into the wrong SATA controller? From the manual it says I have them both plugged into the Intel Z68 3.0gb/s SATA ports (ALthough I do have my main SSD and optical drive plugged into this same SATA group). I made the array in the bios as the manual says.
So here I sit ready to drop $600 on a GTX580 and now find myself thinking maybe I should spend that money on a couple new SSD's with larger capacity in a RAID array. Am I correct that windows 7 TRIM now supports RAID0 on SSD's? If so are there specific models I need to look for? FOr $600 would you buy two SSD's and run them in RAID 0 or would you just buy one very large SSD?
I use the machine for gaming and heavy graphic arts work. I post process wide format images that are usually 2+ gigs each. This is why the idea of SSD RAID0 makes me think I should spend the money there instead of on another video card (I have a GTX470 now that does a fine job).
Looking forward to your input. Here is the pic of the Dell XPS730 i7 convert...
asusbuild.jpg

kbp

Oct 8, 2011
I am running 3 Intel 320's (160gb) in RAID0. Do lots of photo work...