Overriding the once-per-year deauthorizations in iTunes

Parasitic

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2002
4,001
2
0
I love formatting and starting fresh, but I'm also a retard. I never seem to remember to deauthorize my computers before a system reinstall, and already used up my once a year "deauthroize all" ticket in iTunes so I won't be able to access that on my behalf until November :(

I sent a trouble ticket via the web interface to iTunes support begging for mercy - does anyone know the possibility of them sparing that once chance and doing it for me?
 

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Moderator
Sep 15, 2004
12,089
45
91
They have done it for me twice now.

The interesting thing is that iTunes on OS X never needs to be deactivated before a reformat. If I forget to deauthorize and then wipe my laptop, my count stays the same after I 're'authorize it.
 

Kaido

Elite Member & Kitchen Overlord
Feb 14, 2004
48,522
5,343
136
Yeah a couple times. One of my few complaints in iTunes :p
 

Parasitic

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2002
4,001
2
0
So emailing them and asking will get it done?

There's some degree of hardware recognition I believe, but it's only limited to OSX. I could wipe the hard and reinstall OSX and the authorization limit wouldn't increase, but on the very same Macbook if I authorized the Vista installation on bootcamp it would trigger the counter. Changing OS is out of the question, it appears.

This inconsistency is what ticks me off the most.
 

fatpat268

Diamond Member
Jan 14, 2006
5,853
0
71
Originally posted by: TheStu
They have done it for me twice now.

The interesting thing is that iTunes on OS X never needs to be deactivated before a reformat. If I forget to deauthorize and then wipe my laptop, my count stays the same after I 're'authorize it.

I never had to deauthorize it in Windows either. I remember formatting numerous times in a span of 3-4 months and never once did I use another authorization.
 

Parasitic

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2002
4,001
2
0
After getting a reply asking for my permission and billing address to verify that I'm the owner of the iTunes account, I've now got the authorization counter reset to 0. Awesome :)
 

ChAoTiCpInOy

Diamond Member
Jun 24, 2006
6,446
1
81
Doesn't it give back authorizations if the computer is not being used anymore? Like if you format it?
 

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Moderator
Sep 15, 2004
12,089
45
91
It has no way of knowing if you are using the system anymore. I suppose they could let it time out. Like if you haven't utilized the authorization in 3 months it would deactivate on that system or something... I don't know.
 

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Moderator
Sep 15, 2004
12,089
45
91
That would explain why my MacBook has never needed to be reauthorized