Overheated E4500...

ToneCrafter

Jan 22, 2008
Hey all! Obviously I'm a newb here. Hope you don't mind me joining in. :)

I've got a question regarding my new E4500 C2D proc. I was running 3dmark06 earlier and when I got to the cpu test my computer started beeping at me. Long story short, I tried a few more times only to find out that my cpu was reaching too high of temps causing my comp to beep at me. It only happed twice........is there any chance that I may have messed up the cpu? I reseated the cooler and all seems to be well now.

Thanks in advance for the help, all. :)

Regalk

Golden Member
Feb 7, 2000
I believe you answered your question. Usually the built in Thermal control will kick in if temps get too high - a built in protection feature

brencat

Platinum Member
Feb 26, 2007
Welcome to the forums! You are probably okay now, but let's be sure. I'm assuming you're at stock right now on CPU.

Make sure you are using Coretemp 0.95.4 beta or higher, and/or Speedfan 4.33 with 4.34 patch or greater in order to get proper temp readings. Using either of these tools, what are the load temps you get when running Orthos?

Also:
What vcore are you using?
What bios version and Uguru version do you have?
Are you running RAM 1:1 ? What timings?

ToneCrafter

Jan 22, 2008
Good to hear. I apologize if it was a dumb question. I'm new to building comps on my own. As long as I know the cpu will be ok.......all is fine. lol

ToneCrafter

Jan 22, 2008
Originally posted by: brencat
Welcome to the forums! You are probably okay now, but let's be sure. I'm assuming you're at stock right now on CPU.

Make sure you are using Coretemp 0.95.4 beta or higher, and/or Speedfan 4.33 with 4.34 patch or greater in order to get proper temp readings. Using either of these tools, what are the load temps you get when running Orthos?

Also:
What vcore are you using?
What bios version and Uguru version do you have?
Are you running RAM 1:1 ? What timings?

My coretemp is version 0.96.1.