Overclocking the e8400

NoM8s

Feb 20, 2009
I warned you all of the possibly silly questions....here is maybe one of them.
I have a second rig I built to tinker with, the spec is as follows :

E8400 @ 3.0GHz stock (running @ 3.45GHZ)
Asus P5N32-E SLI Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 PC 6400 (4-4-4-12)
OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600W PSU
Zalman CNPS9700-NT
9800 GTX+
Vist 64bit

I achieved a 15% overclock by selecting that option in the Bios. I am having trouble locating the FSB option to enter 400 so as to get a 3.6GHz overclock, I have found and set the multiplier to 9 (9 x 400 =3.6). I must again tell you all that I am new to this and am looking for some guidance.

As I posted in another area my 3.6 oc on the Core i7 was a simple affair, unlike this attempt :).

nenforcer

Golden Member
Aug 26, 2008
I have the exact same motherboard with an E6600 and will be looking to upgrade to a Wolfdale, possibly the E8700 when it eventually comes out. If you don't figure it out let me know and I will check out my BIOS to see if I can find the setting. I prefer not to overclock and void any warranty but have never actually tried.

BonzaiDuck

Lifer
Jun 30, 2004
Originally posted by: nenforcer
I have the exact same motherboard with an E6600 and will be looking to upgrade to a Wolfdale, possibly the E8700 when it eventually comes out. If you don't figure it out let me know and I will check out my BIOS to see if I can find the setting. I prefer not to overclock and void any warranty but have never actually tried.

Tell me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the P5N32-E SLI deploy the nVidia 680i chipset? Wait a minute -- lemme see for myself . . . . Yeah . . . same as my Striker Extreme board.

You need to upgrade the BIOS to make it Wolfdale compatible. As far as Penryn is concerned, Wolfdale is as far as it goes. Try and find the BIOS revision that is several months more recent than the release of the Wolfdales back in January, '08.