Overclocking lessens a CPU's life span, but whos ever had a CPU die on them before?

Maximilian

Lifer
Feb 8, 2004
Seriously? Has anyone actually ever had a CPU die before just through simply using it normally, i.e not overclocking or anything? If so, why would it die? What is it that wears out and stops it working?

Maximilian

Lifer
Feb 8, 2004
Yes but why does it "go bad"? I know they outlive their usefulness, there are still 486's and older running out there. When a bulb dies, its the string thingy inside that burns out, so what it is that dies in the CPU? Could it be any number of things? Or is there 1 thing inside that will simply stop working after time, like the cache, or a certain register or w/e?

Hacp

Lifer
Jun 8, 2005
I think its something like the increased voltage deteriorates the transitors over time or something along those lines. I have no knowledge of this, but I heard it from somewhere :).

BigCoolJesus

Banned
Jun 22, 2005
Yea, the transistors wear down over a period of time, and then break

think of it like this, a transistor on a cpu is ungodly small, so the "legs" are even smaller (like a lightbulb filiment, but scaled down even more)
So, just like a lightbulb, the "legs" will eventually wear down from the voltage and break, severing the connections.

That is why overclocking hinders lifespan, because more voltage is being pushed through those already stressed out "legs" (and im sure if enough voltage was used, the transistor itself could burn out)

Maximilian

Lifer
Feb 8, 2004
Originally posted by: BigCoolJesus

think of it like this, a transistor on a cpu is ungodly small, so the "legs" are even smaller (like a lightbulb filiment, but scaled down even more)
So, just like a lightbulb, the "legs" will eventually wear down from the voltage and break, severing the connections.