OS X 10.4, DHCP broken

Discussion in 'All Things Apple' started by randomlinh, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. randomlinh

    randomlinh Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,855
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, here's an interesting one. Parallels crashed hard... I could not force quit, and then finder locked up. My only option was to force it off via the power button.

    So it boots back up and DHCP doesn't work. I have to manually enter my IP. I uninstalled parallels to see if maybe the adapters it installs caused some conflict... no dice. I also disabled IPv6 just in case. Wireless gets the same problems.

    Anyone have any suggestions? I've finally hit an oddball mac problem 8ish months in.. heh.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - DHCP broken Forum Date
    How to lock an iphone with a broken power button WITHOUT AssistiveTouch? All Things Apple Sep 26, 2016
    Did a clean install of Windows 7 and now itunes won't open Edit: Fixed Edit2: Broken All Things Apple Jan 4, 2016
    Will Apple warranty a bent(not broken) iPod Touch? All Things Apple Sep 17, 2015
    iPhone 6 broken screen All Things Apple Jan 17, 2015
    iPad can't get DHCP even though it had it for 2 days straight???? All Things Apple Nov 30, 2013

  3. randomlinh

    randomlinh Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,855
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone have any pointers for where to did for network drivers/settings/anything, heh. my minor OCD bothers me that I have to set it statically to work, heh. And no, it's not bad enough for me to reformat... altho.. I do want to know wtf broke it exactly.

     
  4. bearxor

    bearxor Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    6,601
    Likes Received:
    2
    It doesn't seem like Parallels could have done that. Is DHCP broken altogether? Wired or Wireless?
     
  5. randomlinh

    randomlinh Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,855
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure if it was Parallels exactly.. I had been having trouble w/ the Parallels network adapter losing connectivity randomly. But it crashed, and basically created a domino effect through everything on my system.

    I forced it off, and lost all DHCP ability from both wired and wireless. I'm thinking a system file somewhere is corrupted, but I have no idea what/where.
     
  6. Kaido

    Kaido Elite Member & Kitchen Overlord

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38,922
    Likes Received:
    429
    Are you using Parallels 2.0 or 3.0? I have 2.0 and I used to have a lot of those weird disconnect issues before I updated to the latest version of 2.0. Try that!
     
  7. randomlinh

    randomlinh Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,855
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using 3.0. Or was anyway. I didn't have any problems w/ 2.x. I think I might switch to fusion though. As of now though, I removed as much as I could find that referenced anything regarding parallels. The only thing I won't try yet is a reinstall, as I'd really like to find out what broke where. Although, at this rate, it's looking like I won't fix it until leopard comes out and I reformat.