OpenCL supported Video Editor

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by pandemonium, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. pandemonium

    pandemonium Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been searching and so far the only recognized video editor I can find that supports OpenCL hardware acceleration is Sony's Vegas Pro (for more than just encode)? I'm not about to drop that kind of money for pet projects which are personal and not business related at all.

    Are there any other options out there that have a timeline editor with high quality video/sound output?

    Edit: I forgot I have another problem that even Vegas Pro can't resolve for me. I record videos with subtitle information: GPS, speed, altitude. I need that information to remain with the time indexes on the video without too much hassle. I think I just created a much bigger problem to solve. >.>

    It looks like there's a subtitler for Cinelerra, but that'd be a pain recreating the final subtitle text files from cut video sources.

    I guess my only solution for this will be to transcode my videos with the subtitles overlayed onto them, then make my cuts and have the subtitle information permanently on the video?

    Edit #2: Handbrake can apparently handle subtitle pass-through. We'll see how this one works. Btw, Handbrake 'still' doesn't support hardware acceleration. :/
     
    #1 pandemonium, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  2. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44,701
    Likes Received:
    95
    Cinelerra. It's GNU/Linux only, but if you're willing to learn a couple things, a thumbdrive install of GNU/Linux and this would be a cost effective editor.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinelerra
     
  3. pandemonium

    pandemonium Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. Right now I'm a Windows only environment, but I always wanted to dabble with Linux. I'll consider it!
     
  4. slugg

    slugg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why, may I ask, must it be GPU enabled?
     
  5. pandemonium

    pandemonium Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because I have about 40GB worth of video I'd like to go through (and growing). I've been eliminating some of it, but there are pieces to a lot of these recording sessions that I'd like to incorporate into a final edit. Using CPU alone would take...forever.
     
Loading...