OnLine gaming and falling in "love" ... Psychology please ...

Noid

Platinum Member
Sep 20, 2000
Hello all,

I've been running a game server for a few years now...

And ... I noticed that some game genre's can lead to "what is percieved as" relationships between players.

Most noticable are the players who use the word "Love".

I think most are teenagers ...

But ,,, anyway ,,, I have some perceptions on "why they fall in love" with another player (gamer)....

I think this could be a good topic ... anyone want to relate thier "experiences" or "perceptions" ?

Koing

Elite Member <br> Super Moderator<br> Health and F
Oct 11, 2000
Horny guy teenage likes to play games and also likes girls.

He sees girl plays game he falls in love with her. Because he likes games and girls. She likes to game as shes online playing whatever game and she is a girl.

Noid

Platinum Member
Sep 20, 2000
thanks for that wonderfull 12,000th post Zim :p

well ,,, maybe that kid is falling in "Love" with a mom with kids ... husband .. etc ...

I find it all ... interesting to see...

Isla

Elite member
Sep 12, 2000
Originally posted by: Noid
Hello all,

And ... I noticed that some game genre's can lead to "what is percieved as" relationships between players.

But ,,, anyway ,,, I have some perceptions on "why they fall in love" with another player (gamer)....

I think this could be a good topic ... anyone want to relate thier "experiences" or "perceptions" ?

Fantasy and projection... they project what qualities they want onto the other player, making him or her seem perfect. And since it is on-line, there isn't much to burst the little bubble of fantasy!

In real life, the little bubble usually gets burst right after the honeymoon. :p

Just my .02!

Kadarin

Lifer
Nov 23, 2001
From the Captain Obvious department: Because these kids don't interact enough with each other in real life, their online interactions take on added importance.

Whisper

Diamond Member
Feb 25, 2000