• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Old Techie needing a little advice on a new build

craftbrewmaster

Feb 4, 2017
Hi,

I used to work in tech, but it's been nearly 10 years and I'm bit out of practice and was hoping I could find a little guidance on this new build I am making.

I am planning on getting the Intel i7-7700K which allows overclocking. I'm still researching the exact motherboard I will be using, but I have two questions about memory and SSD storage compatibility with this CPU.

The i7-7700K says that it works with DDR4-2400 max for RAM. But there are many MoBos (Z270) that support sticks faster than that, say up to 3200. If I have a mobo that allows overclocking of the CPU & the memory, would I be able to pair this CPU with DDR4-3200 memory? I don't want to spend the money and then find out that my hardware doesn't work together.

My other question has to do with his new M.2 connection for SSDs. I don't want to bottleneck my SSD on SATA. The plan is to dual boot Windows and Linux, and I want to run both systems off SSD rather than HDD. I can't find the exact right now, but I recall reading that some M.2 slots where behind the PCH, and so were limited in speed. Also, looking at a mobo like the ASUS Maximus IX Formula, it has two M.2 slots, but they have slightly different specs. Amazon lists: 1 x 22110 (PCIe 3.0 x4 & SATA) 1 x 2280 (PCIe 3.0 x4). Those are both PCIe 3.0 x4, but I'm not sure what the 22110 and 2280 mean. Is one going to be faster than the other? Are there other limitations/form factor/whatever considerations I need to be aware of?