OK, Semi-budget gaming rig assistance...Please?

BoomerD

No Lifer
Feb 26, 2006
A'ight...I don't REALLY want to build myself...but I just don't trust the pre-built companies...too many bad reviews.

So...here's my list of "must haves"

I7-9700k
CPU cooler...is air still good enough, or an AIO water cooler? I like Noctua...but they're spendy
16 GB ram (would prefer 32, but...)
Quality motherboard
I'd LIKE an RTX 2080 video card, but I don't know if the price is justified.
Large (1TB?) SSD, and/or NVME SSD
VERY high quality PSU...gold or platinum, probably 650-750 watts. it's overkill, but I'd rather have twice as much PSU as I need than just -> <- that much too little.
I prefer SeaSonic or Corsair, but I'm open to other brands if they're good.
Full tower case, preferably with slots for an optical drive (yeah, I know...but I'm old) I have a Cooler Master HAF 932 case, but it needs new fans...and the front IO panel is outdated. (but I COULD add a USB 3.0 panel to it.)

I can get an iBuyPower rig with most of that, (2070 card) for $1400 from Costco...and a similar CyberPowerPC unit for $1700. From Costco, they come with 2 year warranties, and I can always buy a Square Trade warranty. (yuck...don't like Square Trade much)

And, NO, I'm NOT gonna use AMD processors or graphics cards.... :p

Thanks.

Oh, and I should specify...this is for gaming and surfing. No work, no photoshop, etc.

Last edited:

whm1974

Diamond Member
Jul 24, 2016
Nothing wrong with current AMD Ryzen CPU or dGPUs at all. IMHO they offer great value for at the prices they are selling for.

A 550W Gold rated PSU is fine unless you are overclocking both CPU and graphics card. And SeaSonic is one of the best PSU companies around.

BoomerD

No Lifer
Feb 26, 2006
Nothing wrong with current AMD Ryzen CPU or dGPUs at all. IMHO they offer great value for at the prices they are selling for.