Oddpost.com sucks.

DigDug

Mar 21, 2002
I've been using the service for more than a few months now, and have grown to dislike Oddpost for various reasons:

1. The search function is buggy. Often the search won't work, finding different items each time for the same search term. Other times, it will need to be reset, that is, changing the term and then changing back to allow the search. All sorts of coaxing are required to make it work, and even then, its only partially successful.

2. Quite often, clicking on a header won't bring up the message. I've had to wait upwards of 20 seconds to view messages. Sometimes, I just use that same "reset" trick above, clicking on another message and then clicking back on message I want to read. This is pathetica and unacceptable.

3. If there are any significant amounts of messages in a folder, it can take upwards of 25 seconds to load the folder. AND until fully loaded, the user is paralyzed from doing anything in that folder!

4. 2 and 3 are simply a symptom of the overarching problem with Oddpost: it is abysmally slow. Right from the login, which takes 15 seconds to open a new window, to usage of the site, its all SLOW. And I am using a 1ghz computer, so processing power is definitely not the bottleneck here.

In sum, yeah, its a cute interface, but that's about it. Oddpost's big sell (and priority) seems to projecting a quirky aesthetic - with the first name basis familiarity and dorkhumor - than providing a fast and tight functionality.

I will not be renewing my subscription.

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
WTF? Who wants all that crap for email? Why --err, let me rephrase. What exactly are you looking for as far as email usage goes? Is reading cnn or msnbc not good enough?

NikPreviousAcct

No Lifer
Aug 15, 2000
Originally posted by: bradruth
Wait...you PAID for EMAIL!? Bwahahahaha!

;)