OC'ing QX6850

Aug 1, 2007
OK, So I just got this new rig... Below are my setting...
CPU: QX6850 with Factory OC to 3.66GHz
MOBO: Asus Striker Extreme
PSU: Thermaltake 1,000 Watts
Cooling Fan: Vigor Monsoon II Lite
Memory: 2 Gigs DDR2 800 - Mushkin Xtreme
Video: EVGA 8800 Ultra

Because I am a noob... I had vendor OC CPU... Factory overclocked... to 3.66GHz

I have become somewhat familiar with changing BIOS settings... but basically, the only change the vendor made.... They changed multiplier from 9 to 11 and changed the VCore Voltage to ~ 1.3543 (estimate -at work now).

So I started taking temp's with CoreTemp and checked Idle Temp before and after stress testing with Prime95. Idle temp is ~ 65, stress testing ~ 74 running for 10mins when running for over 30mins... temp reached 90 and I stopped running Prime95... I was concerned that the temp was too high...

Although in real scenarios, my CPU runs below 40% but when playing games I have seen temp rise to about 73 degrees (celsius) I believe the temp is high especially when the Thermal Spec for QX6850 is 64.5 Celsius (Intel specs). According to vendor, it should be fine if it stays below 80 degrees.

Since I thought the temp to be too high... I started lowering VCore and I found that below 1.35 the temp was below 60 stress testing but after 10-15 mins it would fail the test.. So I started increasing back the VCore but unfortunately Prime95 was still failing and I had to set it back to the original setting of ~ 1.3543.

I'd like to try increasing FSB and lowering multiplier...

Note: I have seen some other BIOS setting changes in threads but I did not change because I did not find it or it doesn't seem to be available... on my MOBO. I'm going to keep on reading up on OC'ing... but if anyone has any suggestions on lowering temp's or any other BIOS setting changes, pls let me know...

The-Noid

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2005