OCing IB i7 3770K

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Rhezuss, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Newb asking newb stuff...
    Just got an i7 3770K and a CM Hyper 212 EVO to go with it. All this on an ASRock Z77 Extreme4 (as in the sig).

    The stock 3770K is 3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo...

    1- On stock voltage, could I go at 4.0GHz with this setup??!!?!?
    2- And if I do, is the Turbo mode will go up proportionally (to 4.4GHz)?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - OCing 3770K Forum Date
    Worth to upgrade to i7-6700k if I'm not noticing my i7-3770k 3.9 to 4.4ghz OC? CPUs and Overclocking Sep 13, 2016
    Should Intel Have Killed OCing With Sandy? CPUs and Overclocking Jul 21, 2016
    i7 2600k worth OCing? CPUs and Overclocking Jun 28, 2016
    1st time OCing CPUs and Overclocking Oct 19, 2014
    Having Bad Time OCing 3570K CPUs and Overclocking Aug 10, 2014

  3. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,577
    Likes Received:
    9
    Once you overclock your turbo will be what you set your overclock to under loads. As far as voltage required you'd have to test it and see. With your chip running at stock speeds what is your vcore under all core loads? I'd think 4ghz should be doable close to stock vcore or possibly under depending on how your motherboard feeds it at stock.
     
  4. IntelEnthusiast

    IntelEnthusiast Intel Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have heard form a number of people who have reached 4.2GHz or 4.3GHz under stock voltage. So at least some of the Intel® Core™ i7-3770K and Intel Core i5-3570K can reach those speeds under that voltage.
     
  5. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    So it's like my former Phenom II...simply increase the multiplier and enjoy?!!?
    Love it!

    EDIT: Ok I stayed conservative and increased the turbo to 4.2GHz for now. Mild OC but could be useful!
     
    #5 Rhezuss, Dec 5, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  7. mikek753

    mikek753 Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,

    I did OC for i7-860 a long time ago and what I remember it was trade-off that I had to disable "turbo" to be able OC - that was some stepping or etc - I don't remember.

    Is it different for 3770k?
    When you OC to 4Ghz, what will be "turbo" speed?

    tnx
     
  8. Plimogz

    Plimogz Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, Phenom 2 (deneb, heka, callisto) initially had no turbo (it was only added to Thuban, and perhaps Zosma), so there is a slight difference. And you would do well to remember that if you leave everything on Auto in the BIOS, the motherboard will scale core voltage with the multiplier you set, so there is the potential for excessive volts/heat for whatever clockspeed you dial-in, unless you manually set it.

    Though I don't know if you can increase turbo speeds for less than all cores without it increasing base voltage. But I'm sure you'll figure it out.

    Congrats on your new CPU btw.
     
    #7 Plimogz, Dec 5, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  9. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    I OCed my 3770K this week and in my ASRock Z77 Extreme4 UEFI I have the option of preset overclocks like 4.2, 4.4, 4.6...I simply choose 4.2 for now and rebooted.

    Now my CPU goes like this:

    Idle: 1.6GHz
    Programs and stuff: 3.5GHz
    Games: 4.2GHz (Turbo kicks in)

    So it scales depending on the application used and how much power it need.

    When playing Far Cry 3 for about 2 hours yesterday my temps were 59/56/53/58...which is nice. I'm using the Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO with Arctic Silver 5.
     
  10. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    check this out....
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    hokies, did you mean for this to be posted in a different thread :confused: I don't understand the connection to this particular thread.
     
  12. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah @_@ my bad..
     
  13. szvwxcszxc

    szvwxcszxc Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can go 4.2 just fine without any cooling. Just stock cooling.

    That's what I am doing currently. My mobo automatically overclocks when I click the setting in the BIOS and the default setting is 4.2GHz for my 3770K.

    YMMV
     
  14. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oy! 4.2GHz is possible but that is definitely about the limit.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    So with a 212 EVO I could up the UEFI preset to 4.4 or 4.6 and be ok?
     
  16. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I would be silly to say you'd be "ok" without knowing all the necessary stuff about your specific CPU (OC'ing is YMMV), ambients, cooler capabilities, etc...but I think it is within the realm of possibility. Give it a shot, whats the worse that could happen?
     
  17. szvwxcszxc

    szvwxcszxc Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. I just tried 5.3 (Fail) 4.8 (Fail) and even 4.5 (Fail). So 4.2 is probably about the max, although might be able to get away with 4.3, and 4.4 is doubtful. On stock cooling, that is, and with my bin.

    Then again, I might have missed something like maybe I was supposed to increase voltage or something. I am still a novice at OC. Fortunately I have a board that will automatically give me that extra boost until I learn what I'm doing in OC.
     
  18. Ed1

    Ed1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    szvwxcszxc

    You need to check your temps under 100% load with prime95 or something to stress chip 100% and check your voltage too.
    Many of the auto OC software from MB manufactures will get you easy one click 4.5 or whatever it ends up but if you check temps and Vcore , they tend to pump to much Vcore which heats things up even more .
    IMO with stock cooler I find it hard to believe your not at or around 100c at 4.2 (your could be at 105c and throttling )

    I have seen many get in range of 4.4-4.6 with 212evo , of course there a lot of variables going on, ambient temps, case cooling, chip etc . Also you can set fan speed profiles in many bios or there fan software to bump up the fan at max temps .
     
  19. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    I could burn alive?
     
  20. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha ha, actually you got me there. Burning alive is certainly possible with a non-zero probability of happening.

    Meanwhile, regardless whatever choice you choose, watch out for those falling meteors ;)
     
  21. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Heheh thanks for the advice, i'll keep my eyes up!

    As for the 3770K, 4.2GHz for now is doing more than the job. It's a fast enough chip stock so with s mild OC like 4.2 it just gives a bit more boost.

    Far Cry 3 is running great and all other games I play for now. Can't complain!
     
  22. szvwxcszxc

    szvwxcszxc Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    it seems to never be more than about 35 degrees C at the stock mobo OC of 4.2 GHz. Checked with CPUz and Core Temp
    Edit: right now it is hovering between 52 and 58 degrees C (the highest temp of all the cores. lowest core temp is between 40 and 45 right now.)

    p.s. fan is not on max setting. fan is running at default settings.

    CPU is running at:

    Frequency: 4200MHz
    VID : 1.21v
    TDP: 77 Watts
    Power: 35.9 Watts

    [​IMG]
     
    #21 szvwxcszxc, Dec 8, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
  23. Ed1

    Ed1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    So those temps are with what app loading cpu to 100% (prime95, IBT, Linx etc ).

    If so thats extremely good for retail HS

    Those temps are what I get at 4.0 with 212evo HS with prime95 . I would of expected 85+ for retail@4.2
     
  24. Klunt Bumskrint

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 3770k runs at 4.5GHz, 1.210v vcore and doesn't go above 60 degrees under load.
     
  25. Ed1

    Ed1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, with good cooler , I assume these results are from the cooler in your sig .

    He saying his results are with retail HS , that would be very low temps .
     
  26. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    59
    Whoa, whoa, whoa sonny. Step the heck away from the CPU.

    Even a Hyper212+ struggles to keep a 4.5+ GHz IVB in check (assuming you don't live in Alaska), let alone that dinky little HSF that Intel supplies.

    You do realize that the IVB HSF is the exact same thing that's supplied with the cheapie SB Celerons and Pentiums right?