OC with X79 & 2011

martman

Dec 10, 2005
I have a ASRock X79 Extreme11 LGA 2011 on its way and would like to find some reliable and easy to understand overclocking info for this board. I am far from an expert on ocing and need something along the line of ocing x79 and lga 2011 for Dummies. lol

Thank you for any help

DooKey

Golden Member
Nov 9, 2005
It's the same as SB and IVB. Just raise the cpu multi and raise voltage as required to maintain stability. Be aware that SB-E requires better cooling than SB/IVB.

exar333

Diamond Member
Feb 7, 2004
It's the same as SB and IVB. Just raise the cpu multi and raise voltage as required to maintain stability. Be aware that SB-E requires better cooling than SB/IVB.

Not exactly. He can also mess with the bclk as well. I had a lot more success (and better temps) adjusting that vs. just the multi. Just my $0.02.

skipsneeky2

Diamond Member
May 21, 2011
Not exactly. He can also mess with the bclk as well. I had a lot more success (and better temps) adjusting that vs. just the multi. Just my $0.02.

Yup,same here.

Perhaps the op could apply one of the overclocking profiles his board has to offer,assuming it isn't pumping out to much vcore,then when he is ready he could manually adjust some settings.

4ghz is a walk in the park and a good starting point,that's where i am at with my 3930k and honestly pretty happy with it.:thumbsup:

DooKey

Golden Member
Nov 9, 2005

I've found bclk to be kinda flakey and not worth the trouble, but to each his own and whatever works best.

InsaneAdam

Jan 5, 2013
I'm stoked about overclocking my x79 and 3820, whenever it comes in the mail from new egg. I'll be sure to post all the details once I have.

Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007