OC Leadtek GF4 Ti4400

Jibby

Oct 3, 2002
Hi everyone. I don't overclock much at all, just started trying it on my computer to see what sort of performance gains I see in something like UT2k3. Here is my computer specs:

AthlonXP 1700+
Gigabyte GA-7VRXP mobbo
512 PC2100 DDR RAM
Leadtek GF4 Ti4400 Vivo

I'm running everything at stock speeds and cooling, etc. Now, I have a couple of questions about the Leadtek card:

1. Going through some of the utilities that come with the card, I noticed something that can monitor the temperature of the card, except it can't be used. Is this something that's only available for the Ti4200 and Ti4600 versions of the cards, perhaps?

2. I'm using the 40.72 drivers at the moment (OS is Win98SE). No problems with it. However, because I have little knowledge of overclocking, I thought it'd be safer if I use the oc utility that came with the card, so I reverted back to the Leadtek 31.00 drivers, and used Winfox v2 to do some overclocking. I bumped it up to the speeds of a GF4 Ti4600, played a few bot matches of UT2k3, and liked the improvement. So, I'm wondering then, is it fairly safe to run at GF4 Ti4600 speeds on a Ti4400 on stock cooling? If so, I might considering reverting back to the Leadtek drivers permanently and oc to Ti4600 speeds...

ChampionAtTufshop

Platinum Member
Nov 15, 2002
since you have reverted back to the leadtek drivers, can you now use the temperature monitoring feature?

if not then just open the case up and feel the videcards heatsink and the ram sinks, if they are blazing hot/ warmer than warm, then i would put some sort of fan somewhere there so the air would be circulated

i also read your other post in overclocking section, and have recommended you get some case fans ifyou havnt already beacuase your system temperature is pretty high

usually it is common and fairly safe to bump ti4400 up to ti4600, but if it gets too hot it will be unstable