o/c for newbs

Nab

May 13, 2002
Can someone please give me a step by step on how to o/c? I know you're suppose to increase the fbs. Then do something with the jumper and voltage, but is there any particular order that you have to do them in? I'm a newb, so extra info is okay. Thanks a lot.

Shooters

Diamond Member
Sep 29, 2000
Do you have an AMD or Intel chip? With an AMD chip it's possible to overclock either with the FSB or the multiplier; with Intel chips your only option is with the FSB. Give us some info on your setup (e.g. cpu, motherboard, etc.) and we can get more specific about how to overclock it.

Nab

May 13, 2002
1.6a intel ghz cpu
epox ep -42da+ motherboard
thermaltake p4 volcano
2 80mm fans
radeon 7000 videocard
Cmedia soundcard
300W enermex ps
256mb pc2100

is that all the info you need? how high do you think i can get it?

Shooters

Diamond Member
Sep 29, 2000
Okay, so your only option is to overclock with the FSB. The best way to do it is to up the FSB speed little by little (something like 5MHz increments) and see if you can boot into the OS. Eventually you'll get to the point where you can't boot into the OS without getting weird errors, or your computer may not even POST. When this happens, you've hit the limit and can either back the FSB down a bit or up the cpu core voltage and try to go higher. Once you're happy with the overclock, boot into the OS and run some benchmarks and stress tests; Prime95, 3DMark2001, and SiSoft Sandra are popular ones. If the programs crash then your system isn't stable and you need to back the overclock down a bit.

That's a brief summary, but there are many other things to consider when you overclock, e.g. PCI/AGP bus speeds, I/O voltages, Memory bus/FSB ratios, etc. I suggest you read through some of the threads in the overclocking forum until you're more comfortable with this stuff.