Now that the contests are done...

Endgame124

Feb 11, 2008
Where is the best place to put our processing power? I’ve got most of my hosts running Rosetta, 2 GPUs folding (though there still doesn’t appear to be enough gpu WUs), and I’ve got 1 old AMD card on Milky Way because it was only pulling like 30k ppd folding.

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
Wait for FB Sprint announcement, if you're interested in 4 days burst of fun*

*it's addictive!

TennesseeTony

Elite Member
Aug 2, 2003
www.google.com
Yeah just run your personal preferrence of project between contests. We don't usually have a project of the month or anything. I like to look at my stats on Free-DC and see where I could put a bit of effort to get to the next 'milestone'. The contests are always bumping things up, that I was perfectly happy with before, lol.

Reactions: ao_ika_red

Endgame124

Feb 11, 2008
I’m just getting started - most of that was just starting up old gear that was offline or mostly idle. Now that I have a reason to do so, I’ll be picking up much better hardware. I actually considered a threadripper, but 2 Ryzen 4950 (or whatever the model will be called) will be cheaper and will let me reuse the MB and ram from my current 2700X system.

The biggest issue I have at the moment is deciding which projects to support. I’m really not equipped to judge if covid research will be better done through Rosetta, WCG, or F@H.

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
Probably none of us are, and we can't know with any certainty until sometime afterwards when papers begin to emerge.
For now you could just choose based on which have the most reliable supply of WUs. If they all are you could split your power up evenly (roughly).

TennesseeTony

Elite Member
Aug 2, 2003
www.google.com
I’m really not equipped to judge if covid research will be better done through Rosetta, WCG, or F@H.