No longer motivated to OC

Collider

Jan 20, 2008
I wouldn't consider myself a hardcore overclocker since I never ventured into water cooling and always went with high-end air cooling kits but I would still consider myself an enthusiast level since I have been overclocking all my systems for the last 8 years (both Intel & AMD) and even modded my cases as far as dremeling out additional fan holes to improve airflow in order to squeeze every last possible MHz.

But as the title suggests I seem to have lost all motivation to OC with this current build I have been using as my primary machine for the past 6 months (specs listed in signature). As you could see all parts are performance components and have been carefully picked with an intention of a respectable OC of at least 25%-35%.

But this far this machine just destroys every single game I throw at it, perhaps with Crysis being the only title that can leave me wishing for a few more FPS but other than that I run all the new titles at their max GFX settings. And with X-25M being my OS/App drive every day windows performance is just amazing and any web dev/photoshop/office work that I do on this box is just a breeze.

And at this point I really question myself whether I want to spend the time to OC this machine any time in near future, somehow stability became more valuable to me. And I'm not saying that OCed machines can't be 24/7 stable, as I mentioned above most of my previous PCs were OCed and were kept running most of their life span. But I just can't get myself motivated enough to spend a weekend or two OCing and benching this box when the performance I'm getting running it stock is more than satisfying.

So I'd like to hear some thoughts from others regarding this dilemma.

Am I the only one that feels this way or can OCing be a thing of the past (as a trend) in the near future as CPUs/GPUs grow in core counts and provide more commuting power then we can consume?