New vid card with 1 g vram, but Win 7 still says I have 3.5/4 g memory usable?

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Scrooge2, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. Scrooge2

    Scrooge2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    Previously I was running a 8800gt 512mb card on a windows 7 32-bit machine with 4 gigs of ram. My understanding of the win 7 32-bit architecture was it only supports 4 gigs of ram and ram available was total - video memory = total usable. Hence, 4 gigs - 512mb video ram = 3.5 usable in system information.

    However I just upgraded to a 5770 Radeon with 1 gig vram. After I installed it, windows system information still says I have 3.5 usable with 4 g installed. This is nice, I'm saving 512 mb of ram, but shouldn't I only have 3.0 g? I thought maybe win 7 was not reading my new video card right but all drivers were installed. I even pulled out my memory and booted with 2 g ram to reset the mobo, but still it reads 3.5 after installing all 4 g.

    I can't help but think something is wrong or maybe my computer is only utilizing 512mb of the 1024mb radeon. Anybody have any experience with this?

    Specs:
    Intel Q9550
    Gigabyte 965P-DS3 Rev 1.3
    2 X 2g G.Skill DDR2 800 (4g total)
    XFX Radeon 5770 1024mb vram
    Windows 7 32-bit
     
  2. rameezs

    rameezs Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    As per my understanding to your question posted here, i believe you are worried about why the system isnt taking up 1GB of the usable memory for VGA due to your upgrade,

    You probably have an onboard VGA, the 512 deducted is for the onboard VGA, and it doesnt matter if you increase your VGA or RAM, it would only use its required memory, therefore you need not worry and this is not an issue, this is called shared memory, memory used by the onboard vga

    You can do one other thing as a test or could even boost system performance, Go to bios, and disable onboard VGA, you should then see the total 4GB RAM
     
  3. Scrooge2

    Scrooge2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I dont have onboard VGA, I'm quite sure that is not it.
     
  4. pcgeek11

    pcgeek11 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,625
    Likes Received:
    9
    Check device manager to see what is there under display adapter.

    pcgeek11
     
  5. dfnkt

    dfnkt Senior member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    A video card that is standalone (pci-x) will not cause your RAM count to go down.

    This only occurs when your video is onboard and it's sharing your system ram. Windows of any flavor in 32 bit will only show 4GB and only address between 3.2-3.5GB of that. The only exception to this is if you happen to install SQL server and turn on PAE/AWE.

    Having 4GB of RAM in the system will show what you report, 4GB installed, 3.5GB useable. That should not change unless you enable the onboard VGA.
     
  6. larslake

    larslake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    The amount of Video Card Memory will not influence the total amount of System Memory used in a 32 or 64 bit OS.
     
  7. Raduque

    Raduque Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,168
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. RebateMonger

    RebateMonger Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm hardly an expert when it comes to ATI video cards. But some of the ATI 5xxx series cards have dual GPUs, which divide the VRAM in half. I wonder if the Radeon 5770 does something similar, only exposing half of the memory to the rest of the system.
     
    #8 RebateMonger, Feb 25, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010