New to HTPC's - Is this a good start?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by BlueWeasel, Oct 18, 2017.

1. BlueWeasel

BlueWeasel Lifer

I'm new to HTPC's. We currently use a Roku 3 to stream everything and we love it. Cut the cord recently and couldn't be happier.

There is someone on another forum selling a HTPC for $140 with the following specs:
    • Gigabyte GA-H61N-USB3 MB
    • i3-3225 3.3 GHz (Ivy Bridge)
    • 8GB DDR3
    • 64GB SSD boot drive
    • Silverstone GD05 case
    • No OS (would probably put Win10 on it with Kodi)
    Was thinking about getting it and adding a large drive for media storage. Primary uses would be for streaming, Kodi, etc. I'm not about to start ripping DVDs or BRs to this thing. Was kinda thinking it would be serve both as a HTPC and NAS.

I know the CPU is fairly old but I don't think I need anything faster. Is this a decent setup for a first time, fairly simple HTPC?

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - HTPC's good start Forum Date
    Please recommend an set of input device for my htpc Home Theater PCs Nov 5, 2017
    Am I the HTPC forum Village Idiot? Stuff I should've figured out a few years ago . . . Home Theater PCs Oct 10, 2017
    Are these systems good for HTPC duties? Home Theater PCs Jan 27, 2015
    Pleas read. i need help to find out if my htpc parts are good. HDTV wonder pci Home Theater PCs May 17, 2014
    First HTPC build, good, bad or ugly Home Theater PCs Feb 25, 2014

3. XavierMace

XavierMace Diamond Member

By the sound of it your Roku is handling all your media functionality just fine, all you're looking to do is add a NAS. If that's all you're looking for, you'd probably be better off just getting a retail NAS unit.

4. Lewy

Lewy Member