New Samsung 840 Pro FIRMWARE is out

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Brahmzy, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Ksyder

    Ksyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay it says "_SeriDXM0"
     
  2. Ksyder

    Ksyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now when I try to open SSD Magician my computer locks up. Tried it twice and happened both times and now going to do it again. Was having the same problem when installing the driver for my Hauppauge 2250 tuner cards.

    This is causing me to have problems with my Windows 8 install... have reinstalled a couple times after it won't start anymore.

    Heeeelpppp!!!!

    Running on Asrock Z77 Extreme 4, with shipping bios and a couple drivers installed like the chipset and vga driver.

    EDIT: I think many of you could figure out what the problem is. I installed the sata3 driver and now it works again. I just hate how long it takes to download from the slow servers so haven't quite finished updating drivers yet as I just installed it last night.
     
    #27 Ksyder, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  3. tracerbullet

    tracerbullet Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's the Intel one, iastor. One of my pics showed Intel SATA controller driver, that was it.
     
  4. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I previously misunderstood your question. I thought you were asking why your AS-SSD was less than that in posts 6 or 7.

    But I see you were asking why theirs were lower than yours.

    Yours looks fine, it is similar to what I see on mine.

    The one in post #6 looks quite bad. The driver is "storahci", and I do not know what that is. Normally when I see an AS-SSD that much lower than it should be, I assume it is either on a slow(ish) notebook computer, or it is not an Intel 6Gbps SATA port.

    The one in post #7 is not so bad, but it is not optimal. It seems to have been run on an OS drive, so perhaps there was some OS activity going on when the benchmark was run. Or perhaps some of the CPU power saving features were kicking in.
     
  5. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,822
    Likes Received:
    1,675
    I belive that "storahci" is MS's Windows 8 built-in AHCI driver. Win7's driver was called "msahci".
     
  6. Ao1

    Ao1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Danidasanic

    Danidasanic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know why but my 128 pro is worst now ... my max write speed is 340 +/- with atto and CrystalDisk Mark ...
     
  8. Franzi

    Franzi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I only used ATTO after the update to DXM04B0Q. Here are my results, they kinda vary on every run (done 5 total with longer breaks after each and forced TRIM) maybe because its the OS disk:

    [​IMG]

    It looks somewhat on par with what others got so I guess everything is fine.

    My detailed system specifications:

    ASUS Z77 WS (UEFI 3302) Intel OROM 11.0.0.1339 in RAID mode
    Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB (221 GB free space of 237 GB total)
    Windows 8 Pro x64
    Intel RST Driver 11.7.0.1030 (F6 Driver only, no RST console software)

    One thing in the Samsung tool made me worry though, it shows 500118192 as number for max LBA's on the SSD and according to SMART total LBA's written are already at 409616523. Isn't this quiet a lot of writes?

    I only own this SSD one month and theres nothing but a basic Windows 8 install on it, I even use a Ramdisk for Browser Caches, TEMP env. etc.


    Kind regards
     
  9. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are confusing two different things. Your 256GB SSD has 500118192 accessible 512Byte sectors, logically addressed as LBAs.

    The SMART attribute simply tells you how much has been written (host writes) to the SSD, in units of 512B sectors. Yours is less than 210GB, so not much at all.
     
  10. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody have trouble secure erasing you Pro? I've got a 128 here that I can't SE to save my life. The bootable USB/cd doesn't work.
     
  11. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why doesn't it work? What are the symptoms of your problem?
     
  12. =Wendy=

    =Wendy= Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    IMO, the best generic method of doing an internal secure erase on any SSD is by using Parted Magic. Quite a few SSDs are locked by the system BIOS which prevents the SSD from being secure erased.
    Parted Magic gets around this by offering to "sleep" the system which should unlock the SSD.
    Of course your system must be able to sleep and wake successfully to use this feature.
     
  13. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, as long as you are in linux (eg., booted Parted Magic), you can open up a command shell window and type (as root, so 'sudo bash' first or type sudo before the command):

    hdparm -I /dev/sda

    or whatever device is your SSD. Near the bottom you will see something like:

    Code:
    Security: 
    	Master password revision code = 65534
    		supported
    	not	enabled
    	not	locked
    	not	frozen
    	not	expired: security count
    		supported: enhanced erase
    	2min for SECURITY ERASE UNIT. 2min for ENHANCED SECURITY ERASE UNIT. 
    You need "not frozen" in order to secure erase the SSD.

    If your computer cannot sleep, you can also hot swap the SSD (pull the power cable to the SSD, wait a few seconds, plug it back in) assuming your SATA port supports hot swap. That will also unfreeze the SSD.

    As for me, I secure erased my 128GB Samsung 840 Pro multiple times on firmware -3B0Q, and right after I flashed to -4B0Q I used Samsung's Magician to secure erase it, and that worked (of course, I had hot swapped the SSD when I connected it), and then later I secure erased it with linux.

    The way an SSD gets frozen is if you boot up with it attached, and the BIOS of your motherboard decides to send it the freeze command. The SSD will remember it is frozen until it gets power cycled.

    The whole "freeze the SSD from the BIOS" is an exceedingly stupid design. It does not actually provide protection against malicious software erasing your SSD in a few seconds, since you can also just send TRIM commands to the SSD (even if it is frozen) for the whole range of LBAs, thus erasing the contents of the SSD in a few seconds. So the only result of the stupid BIOS freezing thing is to annoy people.
     
    #38 jwilliams4200, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  14. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the post. I will say the above is not always true. I tried countless times (yes, with hotplug enabled) to pull power for a few seconds, a minute, 10 minutes - probably 30 different times and no joy. The SSD stayed frozen. Reboots, unplugging power from mobo etc. Sometimes, when they're frozen, there's just no way to get 'em unfrozen within Windows. I will try Parted Magic tonight.
     
  15. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually use linux for secure erasing most of the time. Hot swapping will definitely unfreeze the SSD in linux.

    I cannot confirm whether hot swapping will unfreeze the SSD in Windows, since when I used Magician to secure erase my 840 Pro, it had not been frozen (I booted Windows without the SSD attached, then I connected the SSD through my hot-swap bay).

    So I suppose it is possible that Windows remembers the frozen state of your SSD and even if you hot swap it Windows does not properly recognize the new unfrozen state of your SSD. If so, maybe that is a bug in RST and hot-swapping to unfreeze might work with msahci (or storahci).
     
  16. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    I even tried uninstalling RST altogether and using built-in windows drivers, RAID, AHCI - didn't matter, LOL. Stubborn bastage. If PM doesn't SE correctly tonight, I know something's up. My other Pros have been stubborn on occasion, but after a few quick unplugs, they've SE'd from Magician fine - not this one.

    One thing is I have tried multiple SATA2 ports, but haven't tried a SATA3 port... I may try that tonight as well. The two intel SATA3 ports are being used, but I can swap one of 'em with this problem drive. However, I have SE'd this drive fine on the SATA2 ports before this '4' firmware upgrade. There's a guy on XS that just bricked his 2 256 Pros doing an SE from Magician immediately following the '4' firmware update. Says it is exactly what happened to the Anand and [H] reviewers. He thinks that whatever was broken in the beta firmware has possibly returned in this '4' fw. Who knows. I hate doing the SSD/FW game.
     
  17. Ao1

    Ao1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can run a SE on Win 7, but I have to remove the power supply from the SSD first to get it out of a frozen state. (ASUS mobo/ 11.7 RST)
    I couldn’t update the f/w from Windows however and had to use the Bootable USB Option.
    [​IMG]
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  18. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see how he can say it is "exactly" what happened to anandtech if his SSDs were bricked "immediately following" a secure erase.

    According to Kristian's article

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6503/second-update-on-samsung-ssd-840840-pro-failures

    the two 840 Pro SSDs died while they were writing, shortly after a secure erase. It was a faulty secure erase that did not clear mapping information in the HIL, combined with writing to the SSD after the secure erase, that caused the SSD to stop responding.

    Did the XS poster actually have the SSDs survive until he started writing to them?
     
  19. jwilliams4200

    jwilliams4200 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is interesting. I was able to update the FW from Windows.

    What happened when you tried to update FW from Windows?
     
  20. Ao1

    Ao1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’ve been jumping around from OS to OS installs lately, so it’s hard to keep track, but I wonder if it is an UEFI issue. Currently I’m using BIOS and it was no problem to SE after removing power. I think I was using UEFI when I tried to update the f/w.

    Can’t remember the error now, but I tried quite a few times before giving up and making a bootable USB.

    (I’m fairly sure the long rsp time problem I had with Win 8 is UEFI related btw)
     
  21. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every time I've tried Magician's USB or bootable CD option, I've gotten either a blurry blue screen or a gray bar and nothing on the display. 2 different ASUS p67 boards, raid/ahci, doesn't matter. Almost as if the bootable methods don't have a display driver that works for my nv cards or something. It's the weirdest thing. All other dos cd/USB bootable stuff works dandy.
    Does the ctrlr have to be in IDE mode or something?
     
  22. RickH2

    RickH2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated my SSD firmware last night on my standard Win7x64 desktop and had problems. I first updated from within Windows, and after SSD Magician said it was rebooting the system, nothing appeared to happen; Windows just sat there and nothing closed. The system wasn't hung, but any attempt to close an app just made it quit responding, and nothing I could do would get the OS to shut down or restart gracefully, so I eventually had to shut the power off. It then seemed to reboot OK, but apparently some OS files had gotten corrupted or the new firmware wasn't entirely OK; the system hung while logging in.

    So then just to make sure it was really updated properly, I used my laptop to download SSD Magician and created a bootable USB stick instead. When I rebooted my desktop from the USB, the firmware update app ran OK, but the displayed text screen seemed to be using an incorrect video mode or mangled font, all the characters were heavily distorted and almost (but not quite entirely) illegible. This is a couple year old machine with standard Award BIOS, no UEFI issues involved. With some squinting and careful examination I was able to make out enough to tell that it was asking for Y/N confirmation. After hitting Y, and again on the next screen, it re-updated my SSD OK and eventually dropped out to a DOS prompt. I then restored the drive contents from my backup (being very glad I'd done one before attempting the update) and everything's fine now.

    So... don't trust the in-Windows update option, it's worked for many, but isn't reliable and might screw things up. It's even more important than usual to have a current backup when doing this update. And although normally you'd just use the bootable updater instead, that has issues too. If you use the bootable updater and your screen is unreadable, try hitting Y a few times. Hopefully there aren't any cases where it asks something like "Apply new random drive encryption password?" or "Secure erase all attached drives now?". Again, *backups*.
     
  23. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    The garbled, blurry text is exactly what I see from the USB or CD bootable options. Pisses me off.
     
  24. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sheesh - FINALLY got the drive SE'd with Parted Magic. It was frozen still, but it finally let me do it after unplugging / replugging 3 times. I'm going to rebuild my HTPC on this drive and it better be freaking solid. Tempted to see if Samsung releases any more firmware.

    I'm also about to attempt to update firmware on my 2 RAID0 drives.
     
  25. Franzi

    Franzi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, figured it out now. Not counting in initial OS install and those benchmark runs i'm at under 5GB/day.