Question New PC Build

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
It has been 10 or 11 years since my last pc build and I am thinking of building another to play some of the newer stuff on.

My current system is
Asus P8Z68V Pro/Gen 3 Mobo

I5 2500K at 3.30Ghz CPU

16GB G-Skill Ram

MSI GTX 570 video card

I know that GPU's are drastically over priced right now, so I thought I would get a used one until the prices settle down a bit.

If anybody has any thought on mobo's and cpu that would be a great start. I want intel and an Asus mobo, because I have always had great luck in the past.

I will have many more questions, but thought this would be a nice place to start...hoping 2K will get a nice rig not including the video card.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
Do you have any concern about platform longevity, e.g. upgrading the cpu..?
I guess that would be a nice option to be able to upgrade the cpu. Is this not usually an option with most good mobo's.

I have not upgraded the cpu in my current pc, mainly because I think it is pointless at this time.
 
Nov 26, 2005
14,924
266
126
I guess that would be a nice option to be able to upgrade the cpu. Is this not usually an option with most good mobo's.

I have not upgraded the cpu in my current pc, mainly because I think it is pointless at this time.
I wouldn't upgrade the CPU in that thing either.

For me, I'll probably stick with AMD as the AM5 platform is suggested to stick around for relatively as long as AM4 did. But my point is that, platform longevity and if it matters.

So you want to go Intel w/Asus mb. Are you looking at mid-tier, DDR4, DDR5.. etc.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
I wouldn't upgrade the CPU in that thing either.

For me, I'll probably stick with AMD as the AM5 platform is suggested to stick around for relatively as long as AM4 did. But my point is that, platform longevity and if it matters.

So you want to go Intel w/Asus mb. Are you looking at mid-tier, DDR4, DDR5.. etc.
Yeah, I think 16GB of mid tier ram would do the trick, the best bang for the dollar in that market
 
Nov 26, 2005
14,924
266
126
Yeah, I think 16GB of mid tier ram would do the trick, the best bang for the dollar in that market
What have you looked into so far for RAM? and were you thinking DDR4 or DDR5?

What tier CPU? e.g. 12700k?

Will you be reusing any components? like the monitor? Keyboard? Mouse? PSU? Or will you be upgrading those components too?
 

Charlie98

Diamond Member
Nov 6, 2011
6,253
51
91
I'm still running my 2500K as a gaming rig... I've got a GTX970SSC in mine, however. Depending on how serious you want to get with gaming, couldn't you just upgrade your GPU, and maybe bump the clocks on your K-chip? Granted, the most modern title I run is BF4 and FSX...
 

OlyAR15

Senior member
Oct 23, 2014
773
113
106
I'd get a 12700K or KF with a cheap Z690 board using DDR4. Either 16 or 32GB RAM is fine, especially since DDR4 is relatively cheap. A decent 1 or 2TB SSD and you're done, apart from the GPU. For case and PSU, it's your choice, depending on what GPU you get.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
I know I want an intel cpu so I was thinking the new alder lake cpu on a mobo that uses ddr 4 ram (32GB)....I have always had good luck with Asus
mobo's , so I would like to stick with one of those.

I have a question about these new ss hard drives like this one
https://www.newegg.com/western-digi...820250161?Item=N82E16820250161&quicklink=true

These were not around for my last build, they just look like a stick of ram to me....do they just plug into the mobo and no power or plug from the power supply is needed ?
Are they reliable, the price seems decent....do I even need sata ss drive theses days...what are the pros and cons of these ?

Also with the right GPU would these new alder lake cpus and 32 GB of DDR4 do gaming at 4K ?

Thanks for any info.
 

Charlie98

Diamond Member
Nov 6, 2011
6,253
51
91
You will need a mobo with an M.2 NVMe slot for that. Yes, you just plug it in, secure it, and you are good. Downside is they seem to run hot... my WD SN750 runs at about 40C.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
You will need a mobo with an M.2 NVMe slot for that. Yes, you just plug it in, secure it, and you are good. Downside is they seem to run hot... my WD SN750 runs at about 40C.
So it is not a good idea to run like 2 or three of these ? i like that it just eliminates more cables that can get messy inside the case
 

In2Photos

Senior member
Mar 21, 2007
319
70
101
So it is not a good idea to run like 2 or three of these ? i like that it just eliminates more cables that can get messy inside the case
You can run multiple M.2 drives. Just make sure that they each have a heatsink, either a cover on the motherboard or their own. The SN850 you linked has the option of purchasing with or without a heatsink.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
You can run multiple M.2 drives. Just make sure that they each have a heatsink, either a cover on the motherboard or their own. The SN850 you linked has the option of purchasing with or without a heatsink.
OK, I thought on the Asus mobo I was looking at that were some heatsinks on it that I did not know why or what they were for,,,,will some boards support three of these ?

For gaming purpose and nothing else DDR 4 is fine...no need for DDR 5 ?
 

Charlie98

Diamond Member
Nov 6, 2011
6,253
51
91
Your mobo needs to have as many M.2 slots as drives you wish to run.

I was under the impression the heatsinks on the NVMe drives were basically worthless unless they had direct air running over them. By their very nature, usually tucked down on the mobo, and usually under a GPU, it's very hard to get airflow over them.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
Your mobo needs to have as many M.2 slots as drives you wish to run.

I was under the impression the heatsinks on the NVMe drives were basically worthless unless they had direct air running over them. By their very nature, usually tucked down on the mobo, and usually under a GPU, it's very hard to get airflow over them.
Yeah, the heat seems like it could be an issue, especially if you had like three of them...maybe this is where sata has the advantage
The Speed of them is suppose to be very good, correct?

I may get a mobo with 3 slots and heatsinks on the mobo

I have always had luck with WD drives....this ok

If there are better options for a 2TB drive I am open to it....I just like the reliability I have always had with WD...PCIE 4 a big deal over 3 ?
 
Last edited:

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
To you? I don't know; but it's on my list of items to buy and I have the 1TB version and it's already over half full,,, about 300GB of storage left. When I do buy a larger capacity NVME drive I'll use the 1TB in an enclosure like this:

The one i linked is 2TB it is just PCIE 3 insted of PCIE 4 ...is that a big deal.

I am having a tough time finding a mid size tower with one drive bay for DVD drive ....looks like drive bays are a thing of the past, but I still use one.

I am going to get a ssd drive for windows 11....how big does that need to be ?

Also going to get a 2TB ssd drive for games and i have a couple spinners that I would like to transfer over that have my music on them, if they still make bays to mount those in these new cases....man times have changed....lol
 

In2Photos

Senior member
Mar 21, 2007
319
70
101
The one i linked is 2TB it is just PCIE 3 insted of PCIE 4 ...is that a big deal.

I am having a tough time finding a mid size tower with one drive bay for DVD drive ....looks like drive bays are a thing of the past, but I still use one.

I am going to get a ssd drive for windows 11....how big does that need to be ?

Also going to get a 2TB ssd drive for games and i have a couple spinners that I would like to transfer over that have my music on them, if they still make bays to mount those in these new cases....man times have changed....lol
We just used the 750 SE in my son's build. Speeds are plenty fast enough.

Fractal has a couple of cases with drive bays still. Or you could always use an external.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Whirlwind

kschendel

Member
Aug 1, 2018
159
83
71
PCIe 3.0 vs 4.0 is basically irrelevant for most users. You have to be doing large sequential transfers of 10's of gigabytes to really see the difference. For a 1 GB game executable you're talking roughly 1/3 second (3.0) vs 1/6 second (4.0) which is pretty hard to notice.

For a game store and/or boot drive, I'd buy on price.
 

Whirlwind

Senior member
Nov 4, 2006
532
12
81
PCIe 3.0 vs 4.0 is basically irrelevant for most users. You have to be doing large sequential transfers of 10's of gigabytes to really see the difference. For a 1 GB game executable you're talking roughly 1/3 second (3.0) vs 1/6 second (4.0) which is pretty hard to notice.

For a game store and/or boot drive, I'd buy on price.
Thanks for this.....that is what I will do
 

blckgrffn

Diamond Member
May 1, 2003
8,424
1,739
136
www.teamjuchems.com
Thanks for this.....that is what I will do
At $2K for PC with no GPU, no way I would skimp on the storage. I would go PCIe4 and a nice drive, just watch for any sort of deal. I’ve never had issues with heat when using the heat sinks - and even not using heatsinks…

32GB of ram is also a minimum for that type of build too, I think.

Do you have a budget breakdown?

What is your GPU budget?

Sounds fun as you have the budget to do it right!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Whirlwind

ASK THE COMMUNITY