New Motherboard Screws Computer!!

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by austin835, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, here's the build:
    Processor: AMD Athlon 2 x4 640
    Memory: 4 GB stock
    Hard Drive: Seagate Terrabye 7200Rpm
    Graphics Card: Nvidia Gtx 560 Se
    Motherboard: Gigabyte 990FX a-ud3
    PSU: Corsair CX 500watt

    And the issue is as follows. Prior to getting the board shown above i had a stock board fro the company that i bought my PC, obviously, as i want to game, i needed some upgrades eventually, so i got the board. but, upon starting it up, windows began to show up, the logo was coming together from the 4 dots.. and right before finishing it would crash and restart. so i was told by a friend that i should re-install windows while using the new board, to set the HD up with the board. i tried to do this with the new board, it would not recognize windows 7 installer on a flash drive or on the install disk, upon putting either into the computer, the computer returns the error: "disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter" and thus will not work. I used a separate computer to install windows on the hard drive and that worked fine.. but upon putting the freshly-installed win 7 hard drive in the computer, it wont recognize that either.. it says "disk boot error, insert system disk and press enter" So i DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO!! please help and anything u give me will be appreciated.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Motherboard Screws Computer Forum Date
    Cant get into BIOS after upgrading from gtx670 to rx480 on Z77X-UD5H motherboard Computer Help Apr 24, 2017
    BIOS settings for old hardware mix and match Computer Help Apr 21, 2017
    Gigabyte Gaming 3 Motherboard does not boot. Computer Help Apr 15, 2017
    PC runs for a few mins, shuts down and releases odor Computer Help Mar 15, 2017
    Motherboard Screws Computer Help Feb 15, 2006

  3. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you go into your BIO and set the boot order to optical first?

    It would be best to install Windows on the 990fx computer directly. When you installed on a different computer at work Windows set up all the drivers for the work computer so went you pop the HD back in the 990fx it freaked out.

    Finally once you do get it working you will most likely need to contact M$ because your license was attached to your old OEM MB.
     
    #2 lakedude, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  4. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know about the driver issue and how the board freaks out.. the key is not an isue, i have that.. however, upon putting the cd in (which works on other computers btw) and setting optical drive to first boot it still gives the error that i presented above.. therefore i cant install on that computer.. or i would.. this is the issue.
     
  5. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I understand correctly it sounds like you have a bad optical drive. Do you have another?

    If it isn't the optical, it could be the connection or maybe something is wrong with your new MB?
     
    #4 lakedude, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  6. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    you see, that would be my thought as well, but i put the motherboard CD in there, works fine.. HAHA.. so i am really out of options there to
     
  7. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Silly question...

    Is the Windows disk a CD or DVD?

    Is the optical drive a DVD?

    I'm messing around with an old computer and it only had a CD burner, not a DVD...
     
  8. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, first off they are both DVD, but as i said.. i put the install folders on a Falsh drive.. did the same thing.. got same results.
     
  9. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok download Fatdog-64 610 and burn the iso to a CD. Then try to boot the new setup with the Fatdog live CD. This will not take long at all, Fatdog is pretty small in spite of the name...

    I'll post links in a minute.
     
  10. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
  11. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you need an ISO burner I suggest "Active ISO" or "Image Burn".
     
  12. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    If Fatdog works from CD you have some sort of issue with the DVD part of your optical drive.

    If you only have DVD media go ahead and burn FD anyway. It will still make a good test.

    Make sure all your cables are plugged in?

    If your optical is IDE make sure you have it enabled in the bios and make sure your master slave settings are correct.
     
  13. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is your DVD drive SATA or IDE/PATA?

    If it is IDE you might have messed up the cable by unplugging? Sometimes they come apart.
     
  14. jolancer

    jolancer Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    linux will work fine ofcourse. austin835 you cant just copy files onto a USB or DVD for that matter and expect them to boot without making the media bootable. If thats the path you want to go though im sure you could figure it out with a little research
     
  15. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why do you suspect that Linux will work when a presumably bootable Windows 7 disk will not work?

     
  16. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill answer the both of you.. first off, its sata, and second.. its a real DVD, guaranteed to work.. and does work on other computers.. not worrying about making bootable. not to mention, I'm not dumb.. i know what end of the computer is which.. so please don't treat me as such.
     
  17. jolancer

    jolancer Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    havnt used w7 yet, would seem stupid it wouldnt betable to boot no matter the Sata mode but i guess it is MS after all. Perhaps try changing your sata controlers mode from ACHI to IDE to boot from DVD... What is the interface of the optical drive you used on the other computer? and if its Sata what mode was it using?

    EDIT: oh yeah...
    lol when does linux not work that is the question
     
    #16 jolancer, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  18. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    5
    Bad motherboard
     
  19. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well if the OP has a hardware issue neither Windows or Linux will work...Which is the part of the point of trying Linux on CD...
     
  20. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could be but it is a bit early to call it for sure.

    Hey does the optical drive show up in BIOS?
     
  21. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try a different SATA connector.

    Use a different SATA cable.
     
  22. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if you replaced the motherboard and reattached your old harddrive with an existing Windows install on it, could you not boot into Safe Mode and load the drivers for your new motherboard and be on your way? Seems like this would be easier than the quandary you are in now. Not sure if you tried this or not, but thought I would post just in case...
     
  23. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,460
    Likes Received:
    913
    I had something similar happen to me just recently. I have an ASRock 990FX Extreme4 board with a Thuban in it, and an IDE DVD and IDE HD. I tried installing Windows 7 fresh, and it wouldn't boot the burned DVD at all. I then tried a Linux bootable CD, and this time, when the BIOS was booting, I heard the drive spin up, and it booted.

    So I came to the conclusion, that somewhere between when I last used the machine and now, the DVD laser had died in the drive. It was a decently well-used drive, IDE, five years old or so. Guess it was just time for a new one.

    I slapped a new $14.99 SATA DVD-RW in there, and it installed and ran fine.

    Edit: I should mention, I tried two different copies of Win7 64-bit that were burned on two different types of discs, as well as a Win8 boot disc, and none of them would spin up or boot.
     
  24. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright here.. i know the Mobo isnt bad.. cause like i said, it booted the cd for the MOBO drivers just fine. and that also tells me that the optical drive is functioning correctly. in the BIOS the Drive shows up, along with the HDD.
     
  25. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,460
    Likes Received:
    913
    What I was trying to tell you is, just because it can read/boot a CD, doesn't mean that it can read/boot a DVD. They use separate lasers inside the drive.
     
  26. austin835

    austin835 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    sigh.. sorry i said this wrong.. it can boot the motherboard DVD!!!! and yet it cannot boot the Windows DVD.