New gaming PC build - complete newbie, need input

BHP_Kris

Jun 20, 2018
Hello everyone,

So I've been trying to get into building a gaming PC for myself and I've been completely overwhelmed with the amount of products available. With the help of a couple of co-workers, I've narrowed down the parts list a bit, though it'd be great to get a third eye on things to see if some parts of the setup could be improved.

The parts list I'm thinking about are:

CPU - Intel i5-8400
RAM - DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 2400Mhz 1.2V
PSU - Corsair TX650M 650W, 80 Plus Gold (Semi modular, 120mm)
HDD - WD Black 3.5" 1TB Sata3 7200 RPM 64MB
Motherboard - ASRock Z370 PRO4
Case - Corsair Carbide 100R Mid-tower
SSD - Samsung 860 EVO 250GB SATA
GPU - Zotac Geforce GTX 1080 AMP, 8GB GDDR5X (256-bit)

I didn't include the CPU cooler, because the CPU comes with one from the store I'd buy from (stock one I think, nothing fancy).

I've also read that it might be good to adjust the motherboard to perhaps the Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming K3, what do you think?

Are there any other things, that you guys would adjust in the setup? I want to be VR-ready to play sim-racing games (assetto corsa, dirt rally, stuff like that, heard those applications are CPU heavy) as well as some other stuff (pubg, fallout, TES, etc.). I'm also not sure if I'd be getting into the whole deal of overclocking CPUs (I might want to, might not, so it's not a priority).

The budget, as shown in the PC part picker is ~1400 USD, though if I'm looking at the prices in my local shop, it would be around 1450 EUR and I would not like to get over that.

The monitor, keyboard and mouse wouldn't be needed at the moment since I do have them.

Any help and insights would be massively appreciated.

Thanks!

Reactions: Thebobo

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
You're going to want faster RAM (2800 speed or faster), and you'll need an 8600K or 8700K to overclock the CPU.

whm1974

Diamond Member
Jul 24, 2016