New build..

White_Ice

Jun 19, 2012
Hi guys im new here as you can see and thought id register to this site as its really informative and has lots of good info and tech stuff. Pretty much just got my new build running and got straight into the Overclocking business..

I went with a liquid cooling solution that i have heard great things from and it seems to be doing well but im new to this platform so not sure. Its the 3930k and iv got it running stable @ 100.1 x 50 - 1.54v. Any of you guys know, id be happy to hear your opinion on the temps and overclock i have done. Think its safe to leave like this in regards to temp / voltage ? :rolleyes:

ei4g7k.jpg

Last edited:

White_Ice

Jun 19, 2012
I'd back it down. That voltage is very high. Try 4.6Ghz at 1.35v

Oh okay, iv heard that even if temps are good and voltage is very high it degrades the chip fair bit. I just didn't know what is considered " Too High Voltage" on this chip.. Would you say my temps are okay, doesn't go over 70 degrees in Prime95 even at this oc. :rolleyes:

Thanks for your reply.

Don Karnage

Platinum Member
Oct 11, 2011
Oh okay, iv heard that even if temps are good and voltage is very high it degrades the chip fair bit. I just didn't know what is considered " Too High Voltage" on this chip.. Would you say my temps are okay, doesn't go over 70 degrees in Prime95 even at this oc. :rolleyes:

Thanks for your reply.

Temps are very good. Its just you're above the maximum safe voltage for that processor.

Phishy714

Jun 11, 2012
If its just for benching purposes, then do your benches and then volt it down a bit. I believe the max voltage for the chip is 1.5v - you really don't want to go above that - or anywhere near that for a 24/7 overclock.

4.6ghz @ 1.35v sounds like a happy medium that you can keep your PC on. No need for crazy overclocks 24/7 cause it will kill your chip.

White_Ice

Jun 19, 2012
What do you do that you need that much clockspeed?