New Build not Booting

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by btadler, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. btadler

    btadler Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just finished my build and started up and nothing is posting. My monitor stays blank after stating that there is no data from the DVI.

    My Setup:

    AsRock Z77 Pro4 Mobo
    Intel i5 3570k
    Radeon 7870
    OCZ 700w PSU
    Seagate 1TB HDD
    Samsung 120 Mb SSD
    LG Optical drive
    8Gb Ram

    I have teh 24 pin power connector and the 8 pin plugged into the mobo. Everything starts up when I power up like the fans in the case, heat sink and GPU. Anyone have a suggestion for fixing this or did I get a bad board?
     
  2. Bubbaleone

    Bubbaleone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    2
    2x4GB Ram should either be in slots A1/B1 or A2/B2, and the graphics card in PCIE2 slot. If that's how you're already configured, then try removing your graphics card and connecting your monitor to either the onboard VGA or DVI connector.
     
  3. btadler

    btadler Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running 1x8gb Ram in A2. I tried running it in all slots and no luck. Do I need to be running two sticks of RAM? Also tried removing GPU and re-seating, Disconnected and reconnected all cords and have my monitor connected to on board DVI since GPU DVI also didnt work.

    Edit: Removed GPU and it is booting up now. Does this mean my GPU is bad or what do I need to do to get it to work? Update Drivers for the board?
     
    #3 btadler, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  4. JonathanYoung

    JonathanYoung Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the PCI-E power from the PSU connected to the GPU?
     
  5. Bubbaleone

    Bubbaleone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1....Both 6-pin PCIe connectors must be powered.
     
  6. btadler

    btadler Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re-seated the GPU, installed the updated driver and problem fixed.
     
Loading...