New Build 1.5-1,6k Range (Any Tips, I mean ANY :D)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Toonation, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have bought 2 separate SSDs and never noticed any difference to boot speed. I can time if you want, but my other computer with just an SSD boots faster than my SSD computer.

    SSDs prolly help if you only have a mouse and keyboard plugged in with no other HDDs, that is an impractical case.
     
  2. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    Do you know how SSD's work...? From what you are saying you are doing it wrong, I came from a laptop with a 64GB boot drive, this current laptop with only a HDD boots in about 55 seconds, and does a full shutdown and reboot in about a minute 25 seconds. Where as the SSD laptop (with less specs) would boot in 20 seconds (into windows) and do a full shutdown and reboot in 35-40 seconds. That is obviously faster. Also I saw no delay when accessing programs on the SSD where as on the HDD there is a noticeable lag from clicking on a program to when it actually launches (anywhere from a second to 5 seconds).
     
  3. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    :D can't wait to start to build, but i5 3570k not shipping yet -fails- >.> lol. Anyway I decided to get the stuff now it is not the best gaming PC but I'm ok with it. It's my first "real" PC build as in a good amount of money and stuff so that'd be fun. I can always upgrade in a few months anyway since I'm probably going to get a summer job during summer break anyways. Like I mentioned this is the first time with "real" build stuff so that in itself is nice and yea thank you guys for helping. I'll give you guys an update when I get my stuff I guess. Also I upgraded to a 24 inch monitor as you can see :D. Probably going to need an HDMI cable for later I guess. I just hope the processor comes in a decent time frame. I got them form Amazon because the prices are relativity cheaper than newegg atm with shipping included/deals too o.o.
     
  4. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't face app opening lag with ssd or even hdd, but I use fast hdds we black 64mb cache or seawater momentus barracuda and stuff like that. Never faced any lag with either. And several people face problems with ssds with no known solution, so it is just a hit or miss. And saving 20 seconds will booting is no biggie. It is only worthwhile for Richies who can afford to spend over $3k every 2 years
     
  5. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    o_O
    okay I have decided you don't know what you are talking about -adds you to my ignore list-
     
  6. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    now waiting for the rest :D ugh too bad it says the cpu is being delivered last :/.

    [​IMG]

    Wandering if can I install windows and games on the ssd ( when get it) on a different computer or will it screw it up? Because I want do something before and save some time xD.
     
  7. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol,now i got the monitor and case :D but i feel like I'm getting all the "unimportant" parts of the computer atm as in nothing to really put together D:.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ^But i am this excited for the rest I might explode :D...
     
    #32 Toonation, May 2, 2012
    Last edited: May 2, 2012
  8. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the voltage on that RAM, most Patriot G2 is 1.65V which is a no go for Ivy Bridge.

    Yes, you will see a lot of issues that way.
     
  9. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. WTF is a Seawater HDD? I'm pretty sure the the dude is either talking out of his ass or tried the first gen Jmicron SSDs.
     
  10. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0


    Umm can I go into the bios and change it to 1.5v or something like that and run it at 1333 instead maybe, because i'd be annoying to return it. I didn't notice it was 1.65 :/ until it was too late. is having 0.15v really going to damage the Cpu even with the after market fan?
     
    #35 Toonation, May 4, 2012
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  11. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    I would run it at 1333Mhz and lower the voltage to 1.5v the extra .15v can damage the CPU.
     
  12. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup:
     
  13. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Wish i could clean up the cable more but ik where everything is and they basically go the same direction
    :D

    also the bios automatically adjusted everything :O the 3d dual uefi bios is cool :D I jsut need to finish setting up and stuff like downloading the OS and stuff.
     
    #38 Toonation, May 6, 2012
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  14. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for bad quality of this pic but ik cores are made differently but why is core 2 10 degrees more that core one? Dose Ivy bridge run generally hot or is it normal for a 10 degree difference because if it were 3-5 degrees i wouldn't be worried xD

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Also what is a good cpu clock rate? I set mine at 4GHz should i go back to the 3.4 default xD?
     
    #39 Toonation, May 6, 2012
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  15. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    Make sure your core voltage doesn't get too high! you can damage the CPU if you ramp up the core clock and don't keep an eye on how many volts you are feeding it.
     
  16. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    was thinking the same thing i just defaulted the setting and stuff to what they were because i don't think I need to clock stuff higher anyway. I was just seeing the temps from 3.40-4.00 and voltage and stuff,
     
  17. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually when one core is significantly warmer than the others, that means that the HSF isn't mounted evenly. Make sure that each of screws at the 4 corners has the same amount of torque applied to it.
     
  18. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ty

    also I'm on the computer atm writing this post ssds are SOO much fast
    *-* I just need to connect the the hdd for other stuff.

    I'm downloading games atm. I just got the drivers, iTunes, the OS and about to get LoL and itunes on the ssd. I might as well put the games I use most often on it xD. I'll eventually put Gw2 on. Oh and probably steam as well maybe o-o.
     
  19. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    Put steam onto the HDD, you don't want it to try and automatically install all your games to the SSD, you will run out of room quickly!
     
  20. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm this is weird my processor scored a 7.6 on Windows Experience Index at stock speed is that normal? I thought since ivy bridge is new it'd get like a 7.8-7.9 at stock ;o.

    Everything else scored a 7.9 though lol
     
  21. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    7.6-7.7 is normal for an i5 3570K. Don't worry about WEI scores in general though, they are pretty meaningless.
     
  22. mnewsham

    mnewsham Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,069
    Likes Received:
    15
    Pretty much this. My sig laptop gets 7.4 for the CPU, 7.6 RAM, 7.7 GPU, 5.9 HDD. If I pick up a decent ssd at some point it will go up to 7.4 overall score. Tho something tells me my laptop would not be able to keep up too well when put against your desktop even tho our scores would be close :p
     
  23. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wondering is this suppose to happen?
    local C says 57.7gb free
    BUT when i select all files in there it says only 46.6gbs taken up?
    Tim and stuff is enabled so idk :/
    Other than this my PC is fine and stuff, it runs my games beyond 60fps witch is cool
    just wondering if this is normal or a potential problems?
    [​IMG]
     
  24. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most likely the discrepancy is due to hidden files like the page file and hibernation file. Download WinDirStat and run it as admin for a true breakdown of everything.
     
  25. Toonation

    Toonation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, I have like 65gb free now :D
    And start up is a tad faster too ( even tho it was fast to begin with xD, now it starts before the windows logo begins to form)
     
    #50 Toonation, May 28, 2012
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
Loading...