Need the best graphic card between 10-15k Rupees

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Swachhand95, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys!
    I am new to this forum. I currently have a GTX 550 Ti and now I want to upgrade.
    My budget is between 10-15K Rupees.
    I want the best graphic card in this range.
    It should run new games like Crysis 3 without lag on Max settings.
    The max resolution of my monitor is 1360 x 768 and I wont upgrade it soon.

    CPU-Core i5 2400k @ 3.4Ghz
    RAM-4GB Transcend
    PSU-500Watts
    I wont be using SLI or Crossfire
    I also would like to overclock the card in future.

    Thank you in advance
     
    #1 Swachhand95, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  2. raghu78

    raghu78 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    36
    what brand and model PSU do you have. what amps does the psu provide on +12v rail. for Rs. 15,000 the HD 7850 2GB is the card to get. get a HD 7850 card with a good cooler like sapphire dual x or msi twin frozer. But that depends on your PSU quality.
     
  3. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    PSU brand is V.I.P

    It provides 18A + 18A on the +12v rail

    I have this motherboard http://www.flipkart.com/gigabyte-ga...icmpid=reco_pp_same_motherboard_motherboard_2 and the HD 7850 is PCI 3.0 will it work and deliver the same performance on my motherboard?
    I am goin to upgrade my motherboard after 4-5 months.
     
  4. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
  5. raghu78

    raghu78 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    36
    Can you post a picture of the PSU label. whats the combined amps on both 12v rails. is it 36A or lesser. the msi power edition HD 7850 is a fantastic card.
     
  6. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The new GTX 650 Sucks! It gives the same performance as the GTX 550 Ti which I currently own.

    Regarding the HD 7770, as I said in my first post - I want to play Crysis 3 at maxed out settings at 1360*768 Resolution, which wouldnt be possible with the HD 7770
     
  7. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
    It a Ti so it will be faster than your 550 but it won't be a worthwhile upgrade(I missed your existing card details).So go for the msi pe 7850.
     
  8. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    The +12 Volt rail provides (18+18) Amperes = 36 Amperes and 216W + 216W = 432W
    The -12 Volt rail provides 0.5 Amperes and 6W


    I dont have a PCI 3.0 Motherboard will it still work?
     
  9. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
    It will its a PCIE gen 3 slot.Check your motherboard specs.
     
  10. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    But its written:
    EXPANSION SLOTS
    PCIe x1 Slots, Generation: 2, 2.0
    PCIe x16 Slots, Generation: 1, Running at x16
     
  11. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
  12. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'll finalize on getting the MSI R7850 2GB GDDR5 Power Edition Overclocked to 950Mhz.
    Maybe after 6-7 months I'll get a new motherboard and one more R7850 and use crossfire :)
    Ill also need to get a new PSU.

    Thank you Jaydip and raghu78 :)
     
  14. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Just Asking*

    How do I overclock the card if I ever need to ?
     
  15. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
  16. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will H61 be able to overclock? Or does it require any other chipset? Also will Core i5 2400 bottleneck 7850 or vice-versa?
     
  17. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3
    It will OC just fine.Your processor won't hold you back :D
     
  18. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    With that low resolution all you need is a 560 Ti or 660 Ti . a GTX690 or ATI 7950 is really pointless at that low low resolution.

    Crysis 3 will fly at max settings on that resolution and video card I suggested. gl
     
  19. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting a HD 7850 NOT A HD 7950! and GTX 660Ti costs way much more and isnt in my budget
     
  20. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get at least 8gb ram.

    Get at least a quality psu like seasonic or corsair. VIP isn't that good.

    7850 is the minimum I would recommend even if it means waiting a little to save more.

    And without a proper psu or 8gb ram the gpu can't do anything.
     
  21. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    7850 costs around 14-16k inr.
     
  22. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have money dude :| Yes going to upgrade my RAM to 12GB too.(4GB Transcend + 8GB Corsair Vengeance or GSkill RipjawX)
     
  23. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    These are the bare essentials. Going with a 6870 instead will means almost half the performance of an oced 7850.
     
  24. raghu78

    raghu78 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    36
    there is no need to upgrade. 4 GB RAM is enough for a gaming PC. Unless you are running apps that use more RAM its a waste.
     
  25. Swachhand95

    Swachhand95 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I know. Actually I use After Effects a lot! So I need to render out vids which needs more ram for faster rendering :)