Need suggestions on whether to upgrade or just buy new gaming computer (I have AMD/NV

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
Hi! I have two computers I've played Guild Wars 2 on. I use my main computer to play GW2 and stream on and my FPS sometimes goes down to 2-3 FPS. I like to run Nightbot.tv with the AutoDJ on, as well. (My net connection is 18 mbps w/ AT&T U-Verse.)

I want to be able to not lag so hard :thumbsdown:. I am not sure if I can upgrade certain parts of the computer or if I will need to buy a whole new computer. Here are some details of my two computers:

Main computer
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor 3.40 GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIIA GeForce GTX 560

Second computer
AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor 3.30 GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 7025/NVIDIIA nForce 630a

I use xSplit for streaming.

Sometimes, when I have GW2, YouTube (from Nightbot's AutoDJ), xSplit, and Teamspeak up, and try to go into WvW, my computer makes weird beeping sounds. The display driver has crashed twice this month and I had to shut down and restart my computer (BSoD).

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Enigmoid

Platinum Member
Sep 27, 2012
2,907
31
91
Guild wars 2 loves fast single core performance and even the fastest computers on the market still have some trouble with the game.

That said, a newer intel CPU should improve your fps by approximately 40-60%.

A 560 will run the game at decent settings and 8 GB of ram is fine as well. With that in mind you can probably recycle your ram and GPU from your primary computer and buy a new i5 and motherboard. If you are willing to overclock you will see even greater improvements.

The 6100 was a disaster CPU and the x4 965 is getting pretty old. Your CPU is and will be the limiting factor no matter what you switch out.

Alternatively buying a newer FX CPU (6350, 8320 or 8350) and placing it in one of your computers (check motherboard compatibility) would yield a minor fps bump. It would make multitasking easier. This will not be nearly as large a jump as moving to an intel i5 though.
 
Feb 19, 2009
10,457
10
76
You entire system is showing its age (CPU is horrendous, and GPU is completely "meh" by current standards). There's no upgrade path for that setup which is worthwhile.

Definitely build a new rig. Since you enjoy streaming games, you have to go with an NV GPU for their Shadowplay feature, it will stream your game with minimal FPS loss.

Start with an i7-4770 (get the K edition if you want longer usage lifespan, since it can OC to gain extra performance down the road!). There's no point sticking with 4 core/4 thread CPU for a new rig in 2014, definitely go with something with 8 threads. For games, Intel CPUs are just vastly superior, when games have 1-2 threads or even when they support all 8 threads. I suggest getting the K version, an OC 4770K will still be very strong 5 years later.

For your GPU, if you are gaming at 1080p, a GTX760 should be more than enough. I'm hesitant to suggest a better GPU this late into the current generation, because by year's end, we may see next-gen come out that obsoletes current high-end expensive GPUs. I would go with a mid-range cheaper card now, resell it on ebay later (it won't lose as much value) and get a next-gen top card (NV Maxwell).

Since you love to multitask, definitely get an SSD as a main drive, suggest a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, it's unbeatable for its price.
 

RaistlinZ

Diamond Member
Oct 15, 2001
7,629
10
91
Rebuild is in order. I disagree that a 560 is sufficient. I play GW2 and while it doesn't eat much VRAM, it can be pretty demanding on frame rates at high settings.

A GTX 760 or R9 270X is where I'd start.
 

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
22,400
5
71
www.mfenn.com
What's your budget and your full specs? Assuming basic stuff like Case, PSU, storage are recent, then you probably don't need a whole new computer, just upgrading the core parts. The budget determines what sort of parts are possible and where compromises have to be made.
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
What's your budget and your full specs? Assuming basic stuff like Case, PSU, storage are recent, then you probably don't need a whole new computer, just upgrading the core parts. The budget determines what sort of parts are possible and where compromises have to be made.

I think ~$800 SHOULD get me a better set-up so I'll start with that budget and see what sacrifices I'll need to make on certain things.

The case on the secondary computer is an AZZA Solaris Mid Tower Gaming Case - Black.

I'll post the power supply and storage info later tonight. I do remember taking the secondary computer in for repairs (the power supply died on me!) and they replaced the 400 watt PSU with a 350 watt PSU. :| It hasn't been the same since.
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
A 560 will run the game at decent settings and 8 GB of ram is fine as well. With that in mind you can probably recycle your ram and GPU from your primary computer and buy a new i5 and motherboard. If you are willing to overclock you will see even greater improvements.

The 6100 was a disaster CPU and the x4 965 is getting pretty old. Your CPU is and will be the limiting factor no matter what you switch out.

Alternatively buying a newer FX CPU (6350, 8320 or 8350) and placing it in one of your computers (check motherboard compatibility) would yield a minor fps bump. It would make multitasking easier. This will not be nearly as large a jump as moving to an intel i5 though.

The 6100 is terribad. :\ The power supply unit got downgraded (I didn't know going from 400 watt PSU to 350 watt PSU would be *that* bad) and I have to use a VGA-to-HDMI converter. I don't even bother playing GW2 on that computer anymore. I will probably sell it and use the money towards my new set up.

Yes, the 560 can run GW2 and all my other programs sometimes. Other times, I drop down to 2-5 FPS and that's no bueno.

I compared some of the of the CPU's you mentioned above as well as a CPU mentioned on the sticky in this forum for mid-range system builds: AMD vs Intel. I'm actually not sure what I'm looking at, LOL. o_O I think the comparison is showing the AMD FX-8320 Eight-Core to have the better rating?
 

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
22,400
5
71
www.mfenn.com
Changing the PSU wattage has zero effect on performance, it either has enough power or it doesn't. The reason that your second computer is so slow in gaming is that it is using a positively ancient IGP instead of a discrete card. All things considered, your primary machine is a better platform to work off of.

What are the full specs of your primary computer? Specific motherboard and PSU model are important. Rough specs are fine on the case, hard drive, and optical drive.
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
Ok, I think I have most of the info.

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-biit
CyberPower Inc. Elite Cooler Master tower
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor 3.40 GHz
ATAPI iHAS124 B SCSI CdRom DDevice
Hitachi HDS721010CLA SCSI Disk Device
RAM: 8.00 GB
Mobo: Asus M4N68T-MV2(b)
PSU: Corsair TX650
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Fan: Mitachi DC Brushless space fan M12V 0.80A
Headset: Logitech B530 USB Headset
Wireless Mouse: Logitech M215
Monitor: HP w19b
Keyboard: Razer Black Widow Tournament Edition
Speakers: Bose Companion 3 II
Webcam: Logitech HD C270
 

monkeydelmagico

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2011
3,961
145
106
Main computer is still fairly decent, shouldn't be dropping framerate that low nor crashing out. If you turn off all other programs does it still lag that low? Are the video drivers up to date? Have you considered overclocking your cpu?
 

Dassem

Junior Member
May 10, 2012
11
0
0
I think most people missed the fact that you are streaming. Depending on the setting you are streaming at, its extremely demanding on the cpu. This is why most people who stream at a decent quality will have an i7 at least or use 2 computer setup playing the game on 1 cpu with a capture card and stream it on the 2nd cpu.

i also noticed your poor monitor is old and makes me sad :(

as for your problem you will definitly need a completely new pc if you want to continue playing and streaming (and have an enjoyable experience)
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
I think most people missed the fact that you are streaming. Depending on the setting you are streaming at, its extremely demanding on the cpu. This is why most people who stream at a decent quality will have an i7 at least or use 2 computer setup playing the game on 1 cpu with a capture card and stream it on the 2nd cpu.

i also noticed your poor monitor is old and makes me sad :(

as for your problem you will definitly need a completely new pc if you want to continue playing and streaming (and have an enjoyable experience)

I don't know how to check what settings I stream at. Here is a sample of a recording: lowest graphic settings in WvW with a few enemies nearby. You can see that the game looks terribru compared to GW2 with nice settings.

Will a 2 computer setup use more energy and cause me to have a higher monthly utility bill?

Yes, my monitor is shameful. I squint a lot.

So you're suggesting skipping the AMD and i5's mentioned above and go straight to an i7?
 

sm625

Diamond Member
May 6, 2011
8,172
137
106
GTX 560 is basically like a 6870. A 6870 is more power than what I used for GW2.

appearance-1920.png


I would first at least try the old 560 card on the new motherboard when you get it. From what it sounds like, you arent too concerned about 30fps vs 60, if you are currently dipping down to 2 or 3. Besides, you can always turn down a couple settings to get where you want.
 

escrow4

Diamond Member
Feb 4, 2013
3,339
122
106
Sell both boxes and build a Haswell refresh 4790 with accompanying 9 series chipset in a week or 2 when they are released. Whatever is left of your budget stick the best GPU you can in along with a new monitor. A Haswell i7 would be substantially >50% faster than either of those AMD chips.
 

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
22,400
5
71
www.mfenn.com
Ok, I think I have most of the info.

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-biit
CyberPower Inc. Elite Cooler Master tower
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor 3.40 GHz
ATAPI iHAS124 B SCSI CdRom DDevice
Hitachi HDS721010CLA SCSI Disk Device
RAM: 8.00 GB
Mobo: Asus M4N68T-MV2(b)
PSU: Corsair TX650
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Fan: Mitachi DC Brushless space fan M12V 0.80A
Headset: Logitech B530 USB Headset
Wireless Mouse: Logitech M215
Monitor: HP w19b
Keyboard: Razer Black Widow Tournament Edition
Speakers: Bose Companion 3 II
Webcam: Logitech HD C270

Thanks for getting all of that! You have a reasonably modern setup there, many parts can be reused, meaning that $800 goes pretty far.

i5 4430 $180 AP
ASRock H87M Pro4 $88
Reuse RAM $0
ASUS GTX 760 $240 AR - use ShadowPlay to accelerate streaming
PNY XLR8 240GB $100 AR - optional, but will increase zoning performance
Reuse HDD $0
Reuse ODD $0
Reuse PSU $0
Reuse case $0
Reuse peripherals $0
ASUS VS239H-P $140 AR AP - optional, but having a nice monitor really makes a difference
Total: $748 AR AP
 
Last edited:

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
Thanks for getting all of that! You have a reasonably modern setup there, many parts can be reused, meaning that $800 goes pretty far.

i5 4430 $180 AP
ASRock H87M Pro4 $88
Reuse RAM $0
ASUS GTX 760 $240 AR - use ShadowPlay to accelerate streaming
PNY XLR8 240GB $100 AR - optional, but will increase zoning performance
Reuse HDD $0
Reuse ODD $0
Reuse PSU $0
Reuse case $0
Reuse peripherals $0
ASUS VS239H-P $140 AR AP - optional, but having a nice monitor really makes a difference
Total: $748 AR AP

YES THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I will attempt this all by mah self! :hmm: Will post results soon!
 

Dassem

Junior Member
May 10, 2012
11
0
0
I cant get behind getting the i5 and relying only on shadowplay to stream...
 

lehtv

Elite Member
Dec 8, 2010
11,900
74
91
I cant get behind getting the i5 and relying only on shadowplay to stream...

Avoids CPU bottlenecking while gaming altogether. The impact on framerate from Shadowplay is very small, and the image quality is great
 

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
22,400
5
71
www.mfenn.com
Avoids CPU bottlenecking while gaming altogether. The impact on framerate from Shadowplay is very small, and the image quality is great

:thumbsup: If you have a powerful pure-hardware implementation of h.264 encoding built into your GPU, so why not take advantage of it?

It's not like the i5 is a slouch when it comes to encoding either. If you were really paranoid you could upgrade the CPU to something with HT like a Xeon E3-1230 V3 for $250, but that would mean getting rid of the new monitor or SSD. Neither of those is a worthwhile trade IMHO.
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
Sorry for the slow updates, but the processor and mobo were both D.O.A. :( So I RMA'd them and will prob send them out today.
 

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
22,400
5
71
www.mfenn.com
How did you diagnose them as DOA? What were the symptoms? It could have been a configuration or assembly error on your part.
 

xsephiroth69

Junior Member
Apr 25, 2014
13
0
0
I was lucky enough to have a houseguest in town for the weekend. He knew how to put the stuff together so I turned off the computer. He opened it up and put things in. Only the case would get some power, the mobo fan wouldn't turn on. He checked the power cords/cables again. Still wouldn't turn on. Took out the graphics card and check the power cords/cables again. Still wouldn't turn on. Maybe he did other tests, I am not sure. When the stuff gets sent back, I will prob just take it into Fry's and have them put it all together.