Question need opinions on my future build.

lilred808

Sep 13, 2020
hey. I'm new to this. I have not nor know how to build a computer. lol but Im was going to buy a pre built comp.but a friend told me I should buy the components and put it together. so thats why I'm here. the computer is for my boy(9)he loves fortnite and he does good in school. and I want him to know how to use and know the functions of a computer. not like someone(me)lol. but anyways. this is what I was thinking.

amd ryzen 5 3600xt(chip)
gigabyte x570 aorus master(motherboard)
corsair vengeance rbg pro(2x8gb)ram
evga geforce rtx2060 ko(graphics card)
seasonic focus px750 (power supply)
cooler master haf xb evo (case)
msi optix g24c (monitor)
razor blackwidow ultimate sport gaming keyboard.
razor naga trinity wired mouse

I was told that components last 3-5 years before u have to upgrade. so my question is would this be a good setup for the next 4 yrs. and I was going to order everything from newegg. in November for he's Christmas present. so I'm not in a rush to buy anything. just got to do my homework on this. thanks for reading.

daveybrat

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jan 31, 2000
I like the build but that motherboard is completely overkill. You don't need a $329 motherboard for that.

Go with a good B550 or cheaper X570 motherboard instead. Also you might want to get the Nvidia RTX 3060 that should be out before the end of the year.

Arkaign

Lifer
Oct 27, 2006
Definitely get a placeholder GPU. For reference, the new RTX 3070 is hitting the streets this month and 2080ti (of which it's supposed to be neck and neck depending on title and settings) is already down to ~$500ish used.

If we extrapolate that to push the other GPUs down to a value tier that makes sense, we end up with this :

RTX 2080ti / 3070 $500
RTX 2080 Super $425
RTX 2080 $380
GTX 1080ti $350
RTX 2070 Super $340
Radeon 5700XT $330
RTX 2070 $325
Radeon 5700 $310
RTX 2060 Super $300
GTX 1080 $280
Radeon 5600XT $275
RTX 2060 $250