Need help connecting two PCs together via ethernet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Stg-Flame, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. Stg-Flame

    Stg-Flame Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2
    I built a new computer recently and I've tried to connect them with an Ethernet cable, but when I turn on computer discovery, I cannot find either computer. However, when I looked at the networks with my laptop I saw both computers. I was also able to transfer files using my laptop but the transfer speed was so low, I was unable to move anything over 1GB.

    Is there a simple guide to connecting two computers using an Ethernet? Also, what are the inherent risks with turning on file discovery and file sharing on a private network? I just need to move my music and some documents over to my new computer, but the total file size exceeds 30GB.
     
  2. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    8,003
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are the computers connected directly to each other with just an ethernet cable, or do you have a router/switch between them?
     
  3. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,807
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just connecting two computer with a wire does not provide connection as is.

    Since you mentioned a Wireless Laptop you probably have some sort of a Network please describe in details what you have, (Internet connection, Wireless Router, switch etc.) and how it us connecting together.



    :cool:
     
  4. Cabletek

    Cabletek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    IF you are wiring computer A to computer B with no hardware inbetween you need a Ethernet cross over cable, otherwise if you are using a switch/hub/router, a standard Ethernet patch cable will do.

    http://www.cat-5-cable-company.com/faq-difference-between-patch-crossover.html

    Beyond that the two computers will have no DHCP server so you will have to assign them both a manual static IP address unless you are using a different protocol set such as IPX. Or at least I don't remember ever having to assign a static address when playing starcraft at LAN's back in the day.
     
  5. Stg-Flame

    Stg-Flame Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for the delayed reply, but I posted that while on location today (oil field) and I just now got home since we had a short day.

    Anyways, my initial test was just Computer A and Computer B connected with a single ethernet cable which did absolutely nothing. I did, however, go into my Network and Sharing options and enable File Sharing and Discovery on my cable Internet. Computer A is connected to my wireless router via ethernet cable, but Computer B upstairs was running wirelessly - I could see Computer A with Computer B, but I couldn't do anything as it said it was password protected (I forgot to mention that initially). I then looked with my laptop and I could see both A and B as well as move files between them - this, however, took over two hours to move 800MB; so moving my 30+GB music folder was out of the question.

    Is transferring 30+GB via file sharing a feasible task, or would it be much easier to just transfer the files via external HDD?

    Thanks for the quick responses.
     
  6. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    you want an ad-hoc network, search it.
    you don't need a router or switch.
     
  7. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,807
    Likes Received:
    8
    To get decent transfer you need both computer connecting with wire.

    Not one to the other, both have to be plugged into the Router.


    :cool:
     
  8. Stg-Flame

    Stg-Flame Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help. Now I feel like a dunce for not thinking of this...
     
  9. mammador

    mammador Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    both machines need a static IP address (192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.2)

    You then need to assign common folders between them, and access them via Start-Run in the bottom left-hand corner.

    It's been a while since I did it, but these are most of the basic steps. A switch is not required, and by definition is only required for multiple nodes to have unique lines (or collision domains to use the proper term). In simple peer-to-peering, a switch is not needed.
     
  10. Gryz

    Gryz Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    4
    That was true long time ago.
    Since the introduction of FastEthernet, ethernet interfaces will figure out what wire-pairs to use by themselves. It's a called Auto-MDIX. It's been around for 15 years. The chance you find two current PCs or laptops that can't do auto-detect is almost zero.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_crossover_cable#Automatic_crossover
     
Loading...