Need advice on current job situation. Please help

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

JEDI

Lifer
Sep 25, 2001
Originally posted by: Triforceofcourage
I am an accountant and currently make 38k/year. I really like where I work. The office is casual and everyone I work with including my boss is really cool and easy going.

I have just been offered a position at another company making 54k/year. The hours will be alot longer even come in on Saturday's sometimes and the boss seems kind of like a dick. I was offered the position today and said he wanted an answer today. I told him I needed tonight to think it over.

What should I do?

Update:
I should have gotten a raise one months ago. My boss said after they had their meeting I should receive one. Never heard about it again since.
I am currently working as a Staff Accountant. The new position would be for a senior accountant. I currently work 40 hour work weeks. The new place said it would be more including ocasional Saturday's. I would rather stay with my current employer but I am not sure how to go about asking for a raise. This is my first job out of college and I have been there for about 1 year and 3 months.

easy.. show current boss offer letter and ask that he match it.

if he doesnt, leave. SIMPLE.

$38k to $54k is a HUGE jump at that low range. the extra $ will buy you alot more financial freedom.

now it would be different if it was $138k and the new job was $154k. the extra $20k in that high range is peanuts.

oh, and either way, congrats on your raise!

Triforceofcourage

Platinum Member
Feb 21, 2004
Originally posted by: Otaking
If you're fine with your 38k salary in terms of living comfortably, saving up for retirement, etc., then stay where you are and keep working torwards your CPA. Obviously your opportunities increase greatly will when you get that.