need advice for gaming/server hybrid build

auron

Jun 7, 2008
Hello everyone -

First time poster, long time lurker. I am trying to gather some thoughts and suggestions on a machine I am getting ready to purchase. I am a freelance computer programmer by day and a casual gamer by night. Sadly, the last time I built my own system was 4 years ago and am sorely in need of some technical expertise. Thank you to everyone to reads/provides input on this thread.

I've copied and pasted the sticky on requesting for help :

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.

While most of my computer programming is done on a thinkpad, I need to host some test applications on this machine. I need it to run a webserver (Java Glassfish) and a database (PostgreSQL). However, I believe that gaming rigs should sufficiently cover this, as these apps do not require a ton of processing power. For gaming, I want a machine capable of running Age of Conan, Mass Effect, and future games like StarCraft2. I would also like to run a ventrillo server.

I want this machine to hold backups, so some kind of data recovery protection (perhaps RAID?) would be nice, in case a hard drive fails. (Or, is there some sort of external device that you can use to schedule nightly backups onto?)

Finally, it would be nice to include the possibility of hooking up multiple monitors to the machine. Right now I have 1 LCD monitor, but I plan to purchase another one down the road.

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread

My budget is 800-1000. I do not need a monitor.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.

USA

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.

I will be running Vista Home Premium, so any brands that work ideally with it and games would be fine.