• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Need a 65w socket 1155 cpu recommendation

Zap

Elite Member
Oct 13, 1999
22,378
2
0
$100? Your solution would be any dual core, as they are ALL 65W or less. I would go with an Ivy Bridge Pentium G2120 as it is right at $100. Only problem may be that the BIOS may need updating.
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
$100? Your solution would be any dual core, as they are ALL 65W or less. I would go with an Ivy Bridge Pentium G2120 as it is right at $100. Only problem may be that the BIOS may need updating.
I've been reading that the BIOS chip will need to be replaced if I go with an Ivy Bridge CPU. Is that hard to replace if they send me a chip?
 

assassin24

HTPC Moderator
Mar 27, 2005
394
0
0
I've been reading that the BIOS chip will need to be replaced if I go with an Ivy Bridge CPU. Is that hard to replace if they send me a chip?
Bios is not a chip you replace. You update the bios.

I would look at a G6xx ($60), G8xx ($75) or i3 2100 CPU ($100) or less.
 

Mfusick

Senior member
Dec 20, 2010
500
0
0
You can get a 2105 for $79 from newegg business with the coupon code.

It has HD3000 graphics...

i3 for $80 is perfect for you.
 

Mfusick

Senior member
Dec 20, 2010
500
0
0
Otherwise superbiz has the G860 and G850's for like $55. Almost i3 level processor, small step down in graphics.
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
You can get a 2105 for $79 from newegg business with the coupon code.

It has HD3000 graphics...

i3 for $80 is perfect for you.
Do I sign up for a business account or something? I just decided on a g850 but it's $10 more than the deal you're recommending for more power.
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
Bios is not a chip you replace. You update the bios.

I would look at a G6xx ($60), G8xx ($75) or i3 2100 CPU ($100) or less.
This was taken from a review of the barebone:

Other Thoughts: Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your valuable feedback for the [Foxconn RM2-H2 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 none 1 x HDMI Barebone]. The manufacturer [FOXCONN] has taken notice of your review and provided the following response:
For Ivy Bridge processor, please call us at 714-626-6909 for a replacement BIOS chip. Our hours of operation are (M-F from 830am-530pm, PST, excluding public holidays). Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. Best regards, Foxconn support team

Sounds like he/she was supposed to get a new BIOS chip to run the IB CPU.
 

lakedude

Platinum Member
Mar 14, 2009
2,063
57
91
Doesn't the computer need to be running in order to flash your BIOS? How is that going to happen if the customer only has an IvyB CPU that needs the new BIOS? The OP would need to get an old CPU, update, then install the IvyB. My guess is that is why they are sending BIOS chips out.
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
Yea I thought this was kinda weird as I've only flashed BIOS before but never heard of replacing that chip. Thanks for the link assassin, good info there. For now, I just decided on the g850. I think it'll serve my htpc needs pretty well, at least for now. I won't be using it to rip or transcode, I have my main rig for that. It'll just play movies to the tv & through my receiver. I'll have to find another use for my i5 2400 now!
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
any i3 series would work...no need to spend extra $$ for ivy bridge.
I fig'd the g850 would work pretty well, although I'm wondering how well it would play 1080p content. On Intel's website, the g850 just says HD Graphics, whereas the i3's say HD2000 graphics. I swore on Newegg the desc. said the g850 has HD2000. Is there a difference? I just rec'd the g850 and even on the box it just says HD graphics and not HD2000 graphics.
 

Mfusick

Senior member
Dec 20, 2010
500
0
0
g850 has the exact same iGPU as the HD2000 with the exception that it won't do 3D.
NewEgg lists the 850 and 860 as HD graphics... but others are listed as specific HD2000 or HD3000.


Are you sure the G series is HD2000 ? Is that the same ?

It's been a while since I reviewed sandy chart so I forgot. I know the i3's and up.. but I forgot the pentium differences.
 

Mfusick

Senior member
Dec 20, 2010
500
0
0
NewEgg lists the 850 and 860 as HD graphics... but others are listed as specific HD2000 or HD3000.


Are you sure the G series is HD2000 ? Is that the same ?

It's been a while since I reviewed sandy chart so I forgot. I know the i3's and up.. but I forgot the pentium differences.
I stand corrected. The 850 appears to have HD2000 but the 860 does not.

My HTPC has a 3570k. It has HD4000 graphics. I was thinking about swapping that CPU with either a G630 or a G860 (have both already) and using the i5 for my new server.

But then I thought against it- because the superior graphics of the HTPC. realistically... it would get upgraded at some point because that's how I roll. But I would wait for a spectacular deal.

I paid $55 for the G860 and while it has crappy graphics- It had a bit more CPU power for a very low cost so in a WHS server it made sense. I am not sure it will even power a monitor that often so graphics is a total non factor for me.

So- back to my question:

Is there a difference in cheap CPU's graphic performance that is significant ???

I had used the G630 on Z68 Asrock Xtreme as my HTPC CPU before I upgraded to the 3570k on Z77 PRO3. I can't honestly say I noticed much of anything. I guess I went from HD2000 to HD4000 in that swap.

My server is on G630 also now. On Asrock H61 US3S board I got open box for $45. I am going to make a HTPC out of that for my brother for Christmas gift. My new server is Asrock Xtreme4 Z77+G860 I got for $55.

So... I am just curious does anyone know first hand the real difference ???

Real world I never really bothered to test anything- But I can not say it's a big deal. Even the i5 real world is no different than the G630 I replaced in pure HTPC duties. It was only when I removed the HTPC and hooked up to my monitor to set it up that I noticed it was even faster at all.




http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...E19-116-775-TS
 

Zap

Elite Member
Oct 13, 1999
22,378
2
0
g850 has the exact same iGPU as the HD2000 with the exception that it won't do 3D.
Yes it will. It just won't do QuickSync for those who transcode videos.

I stand corrected. The 850 appears to have HD2000 but the 860 does not.
Sandy Bridge HD video has 6 EUs
HD 2000 also has 6 EUs
HD 3000 has 12 EUs

HD 2000/3000 has QuickSync. Otherwise, HD and HD 2000 has same 3D performance. They all have same 2D performance, just like all other graphics whether integrated or discrete.
 

assassin24

HTPC Moderator
Mar 27, 2005
394
0
0
Yes it will. It just won't do QuickSync for those who transcode videos.
That's not correct.

http://ark.intel.com/products/53491/Intel-Pentium-Processor-G850-(3M-Cache-2_90-GHz)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4524/the-sandy-bridge-pentium-review-pentium-g850-g840-g620-g620t-tested

Where the vanilla HD Graphics loses is in video features: Quick Sync, InTru 3D (Blu-ray 3D), Intel Insider (DRM support for web streaming of high bitrate HD video) and Clear Video HD (GPU accelerated post processing) are all gone. Thankfully you do still get hardware H.264 video acceleration and fully audio bitstreaming support (including TrueHD/DTS-HD MA).
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
I'm kind of confused about quicksync in general, or maybe the terms transcoding vs encoding and how quicksync comes into play. For my needs, playing a movie from my sever over my LAN, what advantage (or lack thereof) of having the ability of using quicksync have? Majority of my files are mp4 because I couldn't stream mkv's properly to my ps3. Since I'll be using an htpc, file format doesn't really matter because I can find whatever player to play my files (I'm assuming here I won't need to transcode/encode). So does quicksync really matter for my needs?
 

assassin24

HTPC Moderator
Mar 27, 2005
394
0
0
I'm kind of confused about quicksync in general, or maybe the terms transcoding vs encoding and how quicksync comes into play. For my needs, playing a movie from my sever over my LAN, what advantage (or lack thereof) of having the ability of using quicksync have? Majority of my files are mp4 because I couldn't stream mkv's properly to my ps3. Since I'll be using an htpc, file format doesn't really matter because I can find whatever player to play my files (I'm assuming here I won't need to transcode/encode). So does quicksync really matter for my needs?
No, it does not. For simple playback something like the G850 would work really well. Assuming you don't need 3D.
 

thestrangebrew1

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2011
2,773
115
106
The only time I ever had problems with Plex using my g620 chip was trying stream 1080p content to my phone online. Streaming content via my network on my devices (Nexus 7, laptop, ps3, Samsung sII) all worked fine. I wanted to be able to stream to my devices online via internet and the g620 struggled so I bumped it up to a i5 2400 for the HT and it helped, but I found I don't use it as much now (haven't been able to really afford going on vacations as much as we used to) so now the i5 is just sitting on my desk.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS