My job idea on getting a job...

imported_goku

Diamond Member
Mar 28, 2004
To be honest, I've never worked a job before, you know why? Because I'm a trust fund baby, there I said it. :p Funny thing is, my parents don't want me to have a job. But I realize that I'll need a job to make it in this world (after college) and so this was my idea on getting a job I'd otherwise not likely get.

It's pretty simple, I tell the employer I'm basically free trial software, try me out for two weeks and if you like me, hire me, if you don't, then the internship is over. You'd basically do this for a job where they'd normally ask for something like in computers being A+ certified etc.

1. Have you ever heard of this.
2. Is this stupid?
3. Is it more than likely the employer would take advantage of this?
4. Is this just simply a bad idea?

cHeeZeFacTory

Golden Member
Apr 23, 2001
you sound pretty clueless about the working world.

maybe it'll work for small businesses

for large corps, there are so many labor laws, legal issues in the hiring process, they'll never accept that kind of proposition.

vital

Platinum Member
Sep 28, 2000
why don't you just apply to a job like everyone else? who cares if you dont have any experience, just tell them what your goals are.

imported_goku

Diamond Member
Mar 28, 2004
Originally posted by: cHeeZeFacTory
you sound pretty clueless about the working world.
I think there may be a reason why....
"To be honest, I've never worked a job before"

maybe it'll work for small businesses

for large corps, there are so many labor laws, legal issues in the hiring process, they'll never accept that kind of proposition.

d33pt

Diamond Member
Jan 12, 2001
you sure have lived a shelter life. go forth and try your ideas and report back.

I Saw OJ

Diamond Member
Dec 13, 2004
Companies usually do like a 3 month trial period where they judge you to determine if they want to keep you aboard for the long run, of course you get paid for it.