My hard drive will not let me format

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JoeFahey, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. JoeFahey

    JoeFahey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try formatting through the command prompt, it says "Drive c: is currently in use by another process."
    When I alternate click on the HD through My Computer, it says "Windows cannot format this drive because it contains files in use by windows."

    How can I format? This is on Windows ME, btw.

    THANKS!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - hard drive format Forum Date
    Format Hard Drive General Hardware Nov 22, 2011
    Format hard drive questions General Hardware Aug 9, 2010
    Low Level Format Hard Drives General Hardware Dec 9, 2009
    Help with formatting new Hard Drive Partition Sizes for Windows 7 General Hardware Dec 1, 2009
    Formatting flash cards, USB flash drives, USB / firewire hard drives. General Hardware Sep 28, 2008

  3. Lord Evermore

    Lord Evermore Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    9,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't format the C drive because that's the drive Windows is installed on and that you've booted off of. If you format the drive, your entire system is wiped out. If you REALLY want to format it and get rid of Windows and all your files, you can do it from a floppy boot disk.

    And nobody calls it alternate click. It's right-click. Alternate click makes me think of Mac users, isn't that what they call it when they hold down a button and click their one mouse button?
     
  4. JoeFahey

    JoeFahey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I am wiping the entire drive. The reinstalling Windows. How do I get rid of Window?

    EDIT:And how do I get a boot disk? I thought I right clicked on the floppy drive or something.
    Also, I am doing this to my other rig, which has Windows XP PRO. Will I do the same thing?
     
  5. JoeFahey

    JoeFahey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    I usually say right-click. It's just that my brother recently used it, and I had it in my head.
    I believe that both are interchangable too though.
     
  6. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    9
    Put a floppy in your a: drive
    Right click on a: drive and choose format
    Tick the box thta says create and MS-DOS startup disc.

    Boot from the floppy to a dos prompt.

    Type format c:
     
  7. Caecus Veritas

    Caecus Veritas Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe you can shut down to dos command prompt for winme...

    when windows closes and goes to dos, you can run format

    while you're at it.. you can also fdisk just for the hell of it... just make sure you have a way of rebooting/reinstalling before doing all this.
     
  8. Lord Evermore

    Lord Evermore Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    9,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to be rude, but are you sure you know enough to handle reinstalling and setting up Windows if you didn't even know you can't format the drive you're running on, or how to make a boot disk?
     
  9. JoeFahey

    JoeFahey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my first time formatting from a hard drive that isn't new. I just forgot how to get the start-up disk since it was on a different operating system when I first learned how to do it, and I havent done it since, and that was atleast a year ago.
    Thank you for your conscern but I am very capable of doing this.