My Computer Keeps Crashing

Sir Levir

Mar 28, 2020
I am not too good with computers but I've had this computer for around 5 years. It is a desktop. My son replaced the graphics card and power supply that originally came with the computer around 4 years ago. Everything else is original to it when I purchased it. Every time crashes, it shows a blue screen with ":)" and it will go from 0% to 100% then restart, or just restart entirely without going to that screen, or go from 0% to 100% and just stay there forever. I tried factory resetting the computer and still the problem remains unsolved.

The parts of the computer are as follows:

OS Name: Microsoft Windows Home

System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology

Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core Processor, 3800 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Proce...

Graphics Card: AMD Radeon RX 470

RAM: 8.00 GB

Please help, this is the only computer my wife and I own.

Steltek

Diamond Member
Mar 29, 2001
Are you running Windows 8, 8.1, or Windows 10?

When you get the blue screen, before it restarts, there should be a stop code error of some sort displayed. What is it?

Another thing you can do is search for Event Viewer in the Windows search box. Run it. On the left side of the viewer, if it is not open double-click on Windows Logs. Single click on the System log. On the right side of the screen, click on Filter Current Log. In the selection box that pops up, in the Event Level section, make sure Error and Critical are checked and hit okay. Are there any recurring errors there?

You should end up with something like this (you might have to expand the log size-wise to be able to read it):

1585491710634.png

Last edited:

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
Download 'HWMonitor' (free version) from www.cpuid.com , and monitor temps and voltages, if you can stay booted into Windows that long.