MSI R9 270X: screen fluctuation and abnormal fix from MSI

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by bzjetsky, Nov 4, 2013.

1. bzjetsky

bzjetsky Junior Member

Hello, I am not an expert on graphics card, but, just wondering whether the owners of R9 270X (MSI 2G Gaming in my case, but 270X in general) are having problems with the cards?

There is a huge debate on the card (270X alone) among users in Korea. The symptom is the screen goes down and up by an inch very fast intermittently. The fluctuation is very fast; but, slow enough to notice. Many Korean users are complaining about this; but, no vendors have officially addressed the issue.

In my case, I did not have such a symptom; but, worse than that, someone pointed out that I have a ill-mind fetched bios based on GPU-Z output. I was told that MSI locked the memory clock speed to the maxium at 1400 MHz; as well as GPU Core Clock to 450 MHz in order to prevent the screen fluctuation. Normally it should states 300 MHz (GPU memory) and 300 MHz (GPU Core). Is it abnormal? Does any users here have such a problem? Thanks for reading this.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - 270X screen fluctuation Forum Date
    Upgrade from Radeon R9 270X? Video Cards and Graphics May 22, 2017
    Radeon 5770, 6870, 7870, 270X, 380 RX 480 compared [Computerbase] Video Cards and Graphics Jan 23, 2017
    Black Screen 270x Video Cards and Graphics Apr 8, 2016
    Screen going white/checkered with my 270X Video Cards and Graphics Dec 7, 2014
    MSI r9 270x Black screen issue Video Cards and Graphics Aug 9, 2014

3. ViRGE

ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

An idle clock of 450/1400 would be abnormal for a 270X. The normal idle clock is 300/150.