Moving from small town to big ass city

convex

Banned
May 24, 2000
A good friend of mine and his mom just moved from lawton oklahoma (where i'm at right now...) to san diego...in fact he left this morning. Lawton has about 100k people, jobs suck. I'm 18 btw...now, what i'm asking is, has anyone just moved on impulse before? I've been working at a local isp for about two years now, I don't think getting a job would be too rough... I have a place to stay for a while and a grunt job (machine shop) if i need it down there. Please let me know what your experiences have been with this...

Mday

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
well, booty can mean several things, do you mean butts, pirate treasure, or what?

Preyhunter

Golden Member
Nov 9, 1999
Cost of living there is too stinking high. Go to Dallas if you want a technology job. It's much closer to where you are and much cheaper than living in SD.

integlspwr

Banned
Nov 28, 1999
well I would say don't be so closed minded when comming from a small town to a big city. You might get exposed to stuff that you weren't regularly exposed to in your small town. Other than that. Good luck.

compuwiz1

Admin Emeritus Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
One thing to be prepared for is the major traffic. Also, people in bigger cities tend to be less level tempered, impatient and things move a whole lot faster. You'll see.

CyberSax

Banned
Mar 12, 2000
A lot of small town folks that I've met have had really strange, and often outrageously romanticized visions of what it would be like to live in a city.

Then they get there, start paying $1200 for a 800 sq foot cockroach infested studio, get mugged, have to deal with traffic, etc. For those very reasons, there's a lot more people who move from "big ass cities" to places like where you live.