Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by daweinah, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. daweinah

    daweinah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its in the bottom left on this picture, near the IDE slots.

    The computer boots fine (check sig for stats) but this thing displays "FF" while the computer is on, booted and running fine in Windows.

    I probably just missed the part of the manual where its described, but a friend said its for monitoring the CPU temp, but I find nothing of the sort in the manual. Does anyone know what this actually does, and what it means?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Motherboard digit display Forum Date
    Using 6 channels audio on motherboard that doesnt have digital audio outputs? Motherboards Aug 26, 2012
    High motherboard temp?- K9AG Neo2-Digital Motherboards Nov 25, 2007
    Digital audio motherboard. Motherboards May 5, 2005
    NV7-133R Nforce motherboard doesn't have Dolby Digital support? Motherboards Jun 19, 2002
    Motherboard recommendation for a Digital Audio Workstation Motherboards Dec 24, 2001

  3. Crescent13

    Crescent13 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have that mobo, it says in the manual what it means. AFAIK it means that the computer is working properly.
     
  4. compcons

    compcons Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    5
    Those would be the BIOS POST codes. You can look through the BIOS manufacturer's website and find the PDF. If I recall, FF (Hexidecimal code) means more or less, all the functions have completed, and the BIOS is done booting. i'd recommend downloading it for future reference (when stuff breaks, this is a really helpful feature).

    EH
     
  5. RideFree

    RideFree Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Codes are listed in an apendix in the back of the manual.
     
  6. MDE

    MDE Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13,196
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd guess that it means fully functional. Mine shows FF and it's working fine so I haven't bothered to look (same board).
     
  7. grooge

    grooge Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    FF for Fonctionning Fine..
     
  8. Podunk

    Podunk Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever get any insights on this?

    I am getting FF code on my 9NPA+ Ultra with Opteron 170. It throws the code seemingly immediately on power on even when there's no RAM (which doesn't seem right??) No action on the video so can't even get to bios. I've tried with various value RAM sticks (2100, 2700, 3200) in various sizes, various manufacturers (Kingston, Crucial). Board shows the 3 blue lights for power to RAM, CPU, and chip set (i.e., OK power to all ). I started out with board fully configured with HD, etc and got same thing.
     
  9. Podunk

    Podunk Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make that Opteron 146. (Freudian slip dreamin?)
     
  10. strummer

    strummer Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0


    FF can mean two things. If it is after the POST has cycled it means fully functional (or everything is okay). If you got it immediately upon turning the power on it means there is a problem. I had this same exact problem about 2 months ago, and it was the impetus for me to register here (to ask the question). My problem was an apparent short due to the motherboard screws being too tight. I highly recommend taking all the parts out of the box and assembling there first. When I did this, I got the board to cycle through the POST codes.

    When doing this, put your mobo on top of the box it came in - do not put it on top of the anti-static bag. Also make sure to plug in your keyboard and mouse - if you don't the POST is going to hang on the last or second to last instruction.

    Let me know how it goes. I have been through it, and have built with Epox boards.

    regards.
     
  11. nJett

    nJett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    my 8rda3I (and 8rda+ before it) both have this - on both boards it cycles through a series of codes as it boots up, as soon as it starts loading Windows it it goes to FF and stays there. If anything is wrong with it is puts up a different code (C1 and 25 are the most common). It's a pretty cool feature and has helped me diagnose a few problems - as others have suggested just look up the codes in the manual if you are worried but in your case FF should mean everything is running fine.