Motherboard died on my Ubuntu machine.

Discussion in '*nix Software' started by Arcadio, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. Arcadio

    Arcadio Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just when everything was set up the way I liked it my motherboard died. If I replace it with an identical model, will everything work as before without any tweaking or configuration? What if I replace the motherboard with a different motherboard with different chipset?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Motherboard died Ubuntu Forum Date
    Debian Jessie Supports Jessie Supports Mixed Mode UEFI for Bay Trail Motherboards *nix Software Apr 23, 2015
    Laptop hard drive died; which Linux distro for USB thumb drive boot? *nix Software Feb 6, 2014
    Question about swapping hard drive to new motherboard in Linux *nix Software May 3, 2011
    Motherboard questions (for Linux) *nix Software Aug 24, 2010
    ASUS Motherboard Ships With Embedded Linux *nix Software Oct 24, 2008

  3. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    46,333
    Likes Received:
    528
    Everything should work fine. Linux is very flexible with hardware.
     
  4. Jodell88

    Jodell88 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,492
    Likes Received:
    29
    Everything should be fine.
     
  5. joetekubi

    joetekubi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Replaced my AMD mb with an Intel i7 mb running Ubuntu 64 bit linux. Didn't have to change one thing. Everything worked perfectly.
     
  6. agibby5

    agibby5 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that's awesome.
     
  7. mv2devnull

    mv2devnull Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    The bootloader loads kernel and initial ramfs image that contains drivers. Kernel loads the rest from "normal" filesystems with the help of the drivers. Installation images do contain ramfs image that contains full set of drivers, but normal ramfs image tends to have a stripped down set, just enough to mount the necessary filesystems.

    Therefore, it is theoretically possible that a new motherboard requires a driver not included in the ramfs image. In practice that is highly unlikely. Even if that happens, one can boot from Live/Install image in "rescue" mode and recreate the ramfs image with necessary drivers.


    I've seen in recent Fedora/RHEL/SL/CentOS the network configuration to require some tweaking. MAC-address of NIC has been stored in the configuration "to retain consistent naming", and mismatch due to MAC having changed leads to NIC not being activated. A trivial thing to fix. On the other hand, if one does use DHCP (like most of us do) and has static rule to give this PC a specific IP, then the MAC in the rule has to be updated in the DHCP server regardless of whether the OS needs a tweak or not.


    Overall, everything should be fine.
     
  8. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    There may be minor things like eth0 becoming eth1, but it should boot up and work just fine without much finagling if any.
     
  9. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you are re-installing an identical replacement motherboard, simply mark the positions of all the hardware and cables on the old board before removal. Swap the boards, and replace everything exactly as it was on the old board. This will minimize the chance you'll have any problems at all booting after the swap.
     
  10. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    40,811
    Likes Received:
    1,249
    Same model/revision should be fine. Different model revision is hit and miss but it will most likely work too though I have seen issues such as Ethernet interfaces changing and being stuck with invalid ones. I have seen times where it wont boot but that is rare.
     
  11. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't even need to worry about that these days. Almost all distros use static identifiers (UUIDs, filesystem labels, LVM, etc) in fstab so it shouldn't have any problems finding the correct drives regardless of port.
     
  12. VinDSL

    VinDSL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    1
    True!

    I carry a bootable USB key, loaded with Peppermint OS.

    I've booted it up in any number of computers, and it works every time.

    I don't suppose the OP's situation is a whole lot different... when you think about it. ;)