Mostly Gaming Rig

zzglenn

Nov 15, 2007
Primary use of this computer will be for gaming, but this will also be a family computer so I maybe doing video and photo editing. My budget sits around $1000. The pricing below is all from newegg but I am open to any repurtable retailer. I would like to be able to overclock a bit, although I have no experience in this area.

PARTS

Case:Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

PSU:Antec earthwatts EA430 430W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TUV, CE, CB, C-tick, CCC - Retail

MoBo:ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

RAM:G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

HD:SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

GPU:EVGA 512-P3-N841-AR GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Opti Drive:SAMSUNG Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM

OS:Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Total: $1,161.91 - $120 Rebates = 1,041.91

Couple of questions:

1) I have never over clocked before, but was thinking of bumping up the CPU speed to 3ghz what type of cooling should I get?

2) Is the PSU adequate for the hardware above?

3) I am a tad over budget and I may still need to add a cooler, buy a larger PSU, maybe faster processor. Any place I can trim this down?

4) Any reason to wait a month or 2 before buying?

5) Is this a solid build that will last for a few years?

Thanks for your advice and help!

DSF

Diamond Member
Oct 6, 2007