Mobile 2500/NF7 O/C venture

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
Is the NF7-S a better choice for overclocking?

I recently purchased a 2500 mobile with the NF7 because I really didnt need the sata features.
I paired this with 2 256 sticks of the Mushkin pc3200 222 special ram. I bought the Thermalright SP97 and coupled it with a 30 cfm generic fan.

This post may be a bit premature...but in the few hours I played last night I havent gotten very far with o/cing this chip. I started out with stock voltages (or whatever the bios loaded, 1.575 for cpu) and it wouldnt boot 200 x 10. I then tried a few times to knock the fsb down, and after a few unsuccessful tries I just placed it at 150 x 11. It booted this up, and upon a succesful boot I was ready to get some sleep; however, when I went to shut it down I got a BSOD. My temps were a little high throughout all this, 31 ambient, 37 full load, but I still thought this thing would do better on the initial attempts. Am I missing something here? Do I need to let it burn in before I will see a nice overclock or what? Temps too high?
 

shabazkilla

Junior Member
Feb 23, 2004
22
0
0
Those temps are NOT high at all. The chip is rated for a max temp of either 85c or 90c, although I wouldn't want anything above 55c at full load. You are well below that. I would up the vcore to atleast 1.65 (default for a Barton non-mobile), then try 10x200. Go from there.
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
Ok...thanks, I will try that in just a sec. Im starting to think this memory is trash. It wont even boot at SPD settings, but as soon as I turn it way down it boots just fine...
 

myocardia

Diamond Member
Jun 21, 2003
9,291
30
91
37C full load is about what you should be getting with an SP97. It almost sounds to me that you didn't do anything of the things required for overclocking, like locking pci bus at 33mhz, locking agp bus at 66mhz, raising ram voltage, and raising cpu voltage. BTW, you've got a hell of a chip there, if it's doing even 150mhz fsb on 1.45v.
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
AGP is locked...I didnt check pci but i assume it is too...Im new to this mobo. And Im at 1.575, not 1.45.
 

shabazkilla

Junior Member
Feb 23, 2004
22
0
0
All NForce 2 boards are PCI locked at 33mhz. There isn't an option in the bios because it is not configurable. It is always locked.
 

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
70,150
5
0
Originally posted by: shabazkilla
All NForce 2 boards are PCI locked at 33mhz. There isn't an option in the bios because it is not configurable. It is always locked.
I'd heard that as well. The AGP is locked by default IIRC correctly, though it can be changed...

 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
a few updates....i bumped the vcore to 1.65, memory up to 2.7, pulled timing down to 2-3-3-7 and Im stable right now at 14 x 166 = 2324 mhz. Seems to me that the memory didnt want to run its spd timings....but only time will tell the whole story.
 

shabazkilla

Junior Member
Feb 23, 2004
22
0
0
Relax those memory timings, lower the multiplier and raise the fsb to 400. Try 11 x 200 at first, then work your way up. Once you have it maxed out, then try tightening upi the timings.
 

gplracer

Golden Member
Jun 4, 2000
1,750
16
81
I have a NF7-S and it is a great board. Although it may no longer be the best choice for overclocking. There are issues with the 10.5 multiplier with some bios versions. Also many of the new boards seem to top out fsb wise around 210mhz-215mhz. I have a DFI Ultra Infniity II on order now. It will be interesting to see how it compares. Many users report reaching a real high fsb with that board.
 

shabazkilla

Junior Member
Feb 23, 2004
22
0
0
I almost bought the Infinity, but I've heard too many people are corrupting their BIOS. Also, my RAM wont go much above 400fsb anyway.

 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
Cool...Ill check that out gpl. Right now Im at 200 x 11. Voltages same as last time, timings the same. Looks like my problem was the voltages and possibly the memory timings.
 

shabazkilla

Junior Member
Feb 23, 2004
22
0
0
Good to hear your running at 200fsb. Now start upping that multiplier. Damn, talking to you guys with mobile xps is really tempting me to get one... just wondering how much real world difference the extra 300-500mhz will make.
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
hehe, i know how ya feel....I was sitting with an Intel 2.4b northwood that would did 3.15 on air with a bit of voltage...2.88 stable on stock vcore, but I figured what the heck, I may as well join in the mobile 2500 fun :)
 

Elcs

Diamond Member
Apr 27, 2002
6,278
6
81
Remember the nforce2 fetish with the 4th timing figure. 2-2-2-11 is faster than 2-2-2-6 :)
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
Thats quite odd...well to sum things up last night:

cpu: 12 x 200 = 2400 mhz @ 1.65 v
mem: 400 mhz 2-3-3-7 @ 2.7 v

Going to mess around a bit more tonight and see if this is stable. If so I'll try to tigten up the memory timings a bit.
 

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
70,150
5
0
Jsniper You said you "pulled timing down to 2-3-3-7", since the SPD settings were too hard on your memory. Aren't the SPD settings 2-3-3-8 or something like that? I thought that lower numbers are faster/ask more of one's memory than higher?

Anyway, I'm going to be probably having to order a M2500+ this week, since last night I burned out my desktop 2500+. I'll see how my NF7 handles it all!
 

myocardia

Diamond Member
Jun 21, 2003
9,291
30
91
Originally posted by: shabazkilla
All NForce 2 boards are PCI locked at 33mhz. There isn't an option in the bios because it is not configurable. It is always locked.
Wrong, newbie. My bios will let me set my pci bus as high as 100mhz or so. Some mobos with the nForce2 chipset, obviously the NF7 is one of them, don't have a setting for it, but many do.
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
I did pull timing, I guess down was a poor word choice. I changed the timings from 2-2-2-5 to 2-3-3-7...this memory is the Mushkin 222 special...SPD settings for it are 2-2-2-5. As for the pci lock...Im sure its all relative to the bios your motherboard uses.
 

myocardia

Diamond Member
Jun 21, 2003
9,291
30
91
Originally posted by: Skoorb
Jsniper You said you "pulled timing down to 2-3-3-7", since the SPD settings were too hard on your memory. Aren't the SPD settings 2-3-3-8 or something like that? I thought that lower numbers are faster/ask more of one's memory than higher?

Anyway, I'm going to be probably having to order a M2500+ this week, since last night I burned out my desktop 2500+. I'll see how my NF7 handles it all!
That's right, lower timings ask more of the memory, because the memory is running "faster" at any frequency. But his Mushkin is rated at 2-2-2-x at up to 200mhz. He just didn't know how much Mushkin likes voltage.:D 3+ volts isn't rare at all for overclockers and Mushkin.
 

JSniper33

Member
Jan 19, 2003
147
15
81
So you feel like the mushkin will easily run its timings (2-2-2) given the voltage I have it at now?
 

Mustanggt

Diamond Member
Dec 11, 1999
3,278
0
71
I have been playing with my Mobile 2500 for a week now, right now its running at 2200 Mhz@1.45 Vcore, 32c idle 36c load that is amazing I think, I will slowly work in in at low Vcore to see how high MHz will go at lowest possible Vcore I have been running P95 and playing COD on top of it all day without a hiccup at those specs.
 

Jayavarman

Member
Nov 21, 2003
115
0
0
Muskins and Athlon Bartons love high voltages. Since you have an awesome heatsink already, the only thing you need to make sure now is that you have good airflow within your case. Once you got that nailed. Give the mobile Barton 1.9 - 2.0 volts and the ram 2.9 volts. You should do 215x12 at 2-2-2-11 easily. Unless of course you happen to have a dud chip, which is rare on the mobile. Good luck.