Microphone: Can't get it to work (I/O Console, Creative XFi-Elite Pro)

Discussion in 'Peripherals' started by Coldkilla, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. Coldkilla

    Coldkilla Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own:

    1. Pyle-Pro PMEM1 Headworn Omni-Directional Microphone
    2. Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro with I/O Console.

    The microphone is your standard 3.5mm microphone inch jack and came with a 1/4th inch adapter. The cord is not long enough to be plugged simply into the soundcard port behind the PC, and must be plugged into the I/O consoles "Line in 2/Mic 2" 1/4in jack. The microphone works when plugged into the soundcard itself, just not with the console.

    What can I do to make this microphone work?

    Microphone: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o01_s00_i02
    Sound Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102015

    OS: Windows 64-bit professional.
     
    #1 Coldkilla, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  2. p0rkguy

    p0rkguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried making it default in sounds?
    Right click sounds on the bottom right and go to recording devices and set the default microphone.
     
  3. bigsnyder

    bigsnyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Second that suggestion and also check the sound mixer (either Creative's or the standard one built in Windows) and make sure the line2/mic2 input is showing up. Make sure it is not muted and and set as your recording source. Just to be sure, is the I/O Console getting power?
     
  4. Coldkilla

    Coldkilla Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    The I/O Console is getting power, and it was defaulted in sounds as both the primary recording/communication device. I installed the motherboard audio drivers and connected the front panel microphone port to the microphone and it works just fine now. However, trying to connect it to the I/O Console, Keyboard, and directly into the rear of the Soundcard still did not yeild any results.

    I'm happy with the front panel mic port, its out of the way and probably the best place for it to be plugged in from where I sit. Perhaps when I get some time I'll try to fiddle with making it work in other ports, but until then - I think the front panel will do just fine.

    Thanks all.
     
Loading...