Max "Safe" voltage for an A10-5800k graphics/nb?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by LxMxFxD4, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. LxMxFxD4

    LxMxFxD4 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently built one of these because I wanted to play around with it. So far i'm impressed. But it seems to achieve 1085mhz on the gpu (7660d) I have to push it all the way to 1.375v. Maybe slightly less but it crashed at 1.35v.

    I have a big zalman optima 120mm HDT heatsink on there so temps are fine. I"m just wondering how far this thing should be taken. In fact, I don't even know what the default voltage is since in my bios it just says "auto". Anyone got any ideas here?

    Again, it seems stable at 1.375v @ 1085mhz with some 1600mhz ram, but I dont want to kill this thing by running furmark overnight.
     
  2. joshhedge

    joshhedge Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Push you RAM up to 1800MHz, that should help iGPU performance :)
     
  3. LxMxFxD4

    LxMxFxD4 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please stay on topic. Much appreciated.
     
  4. Ventanni

    Ventanni Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joshhedge makes a valid point that's plenty on topic. There's little point in overclocking the iGPU unless you up the RAM speed.
     
  5. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, he's plenty on-topic... pairing things with 1600MHz RAM was silly; you're taking away as much performance through bandwidth starvation as you're getting from the overclock in the first place. Upgrade to the minimum recommended spec RAM before you start tweaking for performance. Hell, I went all the way up to 2133 and the difference over 1866 is apparent, let alone 1600.

    As for the NB, I believe the stock voltage is 1.275. I've been unable to achieve 1085MHz stably, so I'm running 950MHz @ 1.30v because I don't think the jump to 1013MHz is worth the 1.35v I have to run at.

    If you're stable at 1.375v for 1085MHz then I'd take it, given the fact that you've replaced the rinky-dink HSF with something decent.
     
  6. LxMxFxD4

    LxMxFxD4 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you find the 1.275v for stock? My motherboard doens't show it and all the software out there doesn't read the a10 very well.

    As for being on topic, I am fully aware of raising ram speed helps speed but that is not the title or purpose of creating this thread. I asked about max safe voltage and asked everyone to stay on topic.

    Thanks
     
  7. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    My motherboard shows all default voltages when I switch from Auto to Manual, and I believe I read it in the THG review as well.

    Upgrade your RAM.
     
  8. LxMxFxD4

    LxMxFxD4 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAM will not be upgraded. Again, please stay on topic. Even if I had 2133mhz ram, it wouldn't make any difference to the purpose of this thread: to find the max safe and stock voltages of the NB/iGFX. I hope you and others understand this now?

    THG only shows the 1.275v was what the overclocking tuning utility showed. But if 1.275v is the stock voltage then I feel comfortable with it at 1.375v. Still wished AMD published this somewhere.
     
  9. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,836
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well we all think that the purpose of this is to get faster igpu speeds.

    What's the purpose of over clocking if you aren't doing it to gain some more performance?
     
  10. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recommend you email AMD technical support.

    If they have an answer for you, it will be the right answer.

    If they don't answer then you'll know that everyone else who gives you an answer is really just giving you an opinion ;)
     
  11. BLaber

    BLaber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read on extremesystems forum & Overclocknet forum people using 1.45~1.55v for overclocking 24/7.

    AMD procs are diffrent to Intel so on AMD side 1.45v is the least you can easily apply to get your overclock stable.
     
  12. NTMBK

    NTMBK Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6,995
    Likes Received:
    33
    Pushing a high graphics OC on 1600MHz RAM is going to leave you pretty bottlenecked.
     
  13. Gumburcules

    Gumburcules Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, sorry to go off topic and revive an old thread, but I am just about to put together my A10 build and I stumbled upon this discussion. I noticed you had the exact same setup I am about to build (A10 5800k, asrock fm2a75m, and 8GB 2133 RAM, though I also have a Xigmatech Gaia SD1283 CPU cooler that came with my APU) so I was hoping I could save some trial and error and ask what settings you found worked the best for overclocking your rig. It would be a massive time saver if you could let me know. Thanks!
     
  14. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing that caused me headaches was the RAM. It took a combination of two things for me to realize 2133 with my 2133 RAM; the first BIOS update from Asrock and finding that I needed to both loosen my timings and up my DRAM voltage from the manufacturer recommended settings. Wound up having to go to 1.6v from 1.5v and 11-11-11 to 11-12-11.
     
  15. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I emailed AMD with this same question for llano 11 months ago.
    The response I got was a voltage range for the whole chip.
    They seem to be very liberal about the "default" (leaving it up to the mb/bios makers perhaps).
    This leads me to believe that all the transistors and voltage planes should have the same tolerances on these APUs (trinity not being much different from llano).

    ME:
    "I cannot seem to locate information on the default/intended voltages for the A series APUs. Specifically, I'd like to know what voltages are intended for the northbride and gpu portion of the APUs. Also, are the northbridge and gpu on the same power plane ? Any technical docs or html links on voltages would be helpful. thank you"

    AMD:
    "The Core voltage for the A8-3850 is 0.45 to 1.4125V. If you need to know the voltage for the Northbridge chipset, you will need to consult with the motherboard manufacturer."

    Either that or the particular tech support person just didn't know.
     
    #15 Soulkeeper, Dec 26, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  16. ericlp

    ericlp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    2

    I'm gonna pull the trigger and buy an A10. What RAM do you recommend I buy?

    I'm just gonna go with this MOBO : MSI Socket FM2/AMD A75/DDR3/SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/MicroATX Motherboard FM2-A75MA-E35

    And I was gonna go with this RAM. Corsair Vengeance Red 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866 MHz (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory (CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9R)

    Do you think you can push that RAM to 2133? Hmmm.... Also is that MOBO a good one to go with?

    One last Question, what Power Supply did you choose for you setup? Is 300 watts enough? Maybe I should go with at least 400 Watts? I know the chip can go to 150 watts. I figure with a Hard Drive and CDROM Plus the MoBo... Probably won't push more than 60-70 watts more.

    Thanks!
     
  17. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that even with DDR3-2133 1.5V rated GSkill ram that I had to ensure good airflow over the dimms to keep them from eventually overheating and becoming unstable at some point during LinX runs or HCI memtest runs.

    In my case I just went the ghetto route and zip-tied a single 120mm fan horizontally over the tops of the dimms (so it was blowing air straight down into the dimms) and that worked just fine.
     
  18. ericlp

    ericlp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah... Maybe I shouldn't set my sights on such high speeds and just stick with a lower notch of 1866 MHz... While zip tied fans to ram sticks might sound like a good option I just don't want to go that rout and I sure as heck don't want unstable random lock ups. :( No Fun!
     
  19. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go with this 2133 RAM, it's cheaper than your Corsair anyways and has fairly tight timings. And if you wind up backing it down to 1866 anyways, you can probably match the Corsair timings and you'll still have saved a few bucks.

    The Patriot is what I have and aside from having to go to 1.6v and drop from 11/11/11/27 to 11/12/11/27 I've had no issues at 2133. I've also done 10/10/10/25 with it at 1866, and could probably have tightened further if I'd bothered trying.

    Can't knock the MSI A75 board either. The only thing I'd avoid with FM2 boards is A55 chipsets as their feature set is a bit of a flashback to 2009. I bought the Asrock A75 mATX and have been pretty happy.

    I bought this PSU. At 500w it's probably overkill. But as it was when I bought it, it's again on sale for under $40. It's very quiet and looks quite nice as well.
     
    #19 Centauri, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  20. ericlp

    ericlp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you... Hopefully all my parts will be DOA free!
     
  21. iFreeStylin

    iFreeStylin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone help me out? i cant get my iGPU to run stable at any frequency higher than stock
     
Loading...