Man, what a day

Sho'Nuff

Diamond Member
Jul 12, 2007
So I had a heck of day yesterday. As many of you know, I am an attorney in an intellectual property (specifically patent) law firm. Well, in order to actually become a "patent attorney" per se, I needed to take and pass the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Registration Exam. I took that exam yesterday, and am happy to say that the "preliminary results" indicate that I passed. This was great news for me, as the pass rate for this exam the past few years has been ~50%.

So there I am, all happy about passing the exam. I go out to my car (which is parked in a lot directly behind the test center), to find that I have been ticketed for parking in a reserved lot ($50). Although that sucked, I was still happy about passing the exam, so I got into the car and proceeded to drive home. Everything was great until I got into a car accident about a two miles from my house! There were no injuries, thank goodness, but my car was not drivable after the accident. To make things worse, the police officer gave me a warning citation for passing on the right (essentially indicating that I was at fault), which, as I will discuss, is highly questionable given the circumstances of the accident.