making a NAS/Plex server, need opinions

gorcorps

aka Brandon
Jul 18, 2004
Couldn't decide if I should put this in Storage, HTPCs or here... so move if necessary

I finally bit and ordered a Lenovo TS140 to use as a Plex server, but the more I read the more I'm not sure which road I should go down... so I'm just looking for opinions.

This is just for home use for pretty much just one or two clients at a time (Roku box). I want to use it for media storage and a Plex server that's always on. The plan is to continue to rip blurays via my desktop but store them on this media server automatically once they're done ripping.

So, I'd like opinions on:

- Operating system: OpenBSD seems like a good option for free use, but I'm totally new to it. I've heard other opinions that it might be easier to just go with Windows if I have the option as it may be easier to set up and troubleshoot since that's what I'm used to.

- RAID : I've heard people talk about software raid vs. hardware raid and I honestly get lost in what I'd need for my use. I also am not positive what would be the best option for me as far as drive configuration goes. RAID 5 seems like a good option for both fault tolerance and decent performance. Since it'll mostly be reading, with the only writing happening after I rip a new movie, it sounds like the best option. I need suggestions though

- Drive recs: I know there are some drives that are better suited for long term server use and use less power, but I'm not sure which are worth looking at for the price.

- File system: ZFS? I see people referencing ZFS but I don't really know what's so special about it. It seems to be connected to software RAID options but I'm not sure what all I need to know.

Last edited:

gus6464

Golden Member
Nov 10, 2005
Since you are ripping blu-rays I would also throw in a gpu in the lenovo that can do hdmi audio bitstream to your AVR if you happen to have one.

poofyhairguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2005