Mac OS X Annoyance: Multiple Windows of an Application

Discussion in 'All Things Apple' started by QueHuong, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. QueHuong

    QueHuong Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Coming from Windows, I like how they treat each window instance as a separate application in the taskbar. For example, if I'm working on two Word documents, a quick alt-tab can get me to switch or a quick click of the mouse can get me between these two documents.

    On the Mac, only the application's icon shows up and I don't get the granular option of switching to Doc 1 or Doc 2 by in Word by merely clicking on the taskbar. Yes, I can do Cmd + ` to switch between windows within an application. But it can get confusing when I have 2 Word documents open, 2 Chrome windows opened and am switching constantly between the 4 windows.

    Is there an easy way to switch between windows like how Windows handles it? Or do I have to use a different workflow?

    I'm on a 13" MacBook so resizing to have 2 documents visible at once makes it too small to see comfortably.
     
  2. Tegeril

    Tegeril Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    App Expose: swipe down with three fingers

    and depending on the situation

    Mission Control: swipe up with three fingers.

    If you have a Magic Mouse you can get that functionality as well.
     
  3. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah. That's what exposé is for.
     
  4. TheStu

    TheStu Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    11,781
    Likes Received:
    1
    You'll need to adapt your workflow and bring expose into it as these fine folks have posted.
     
  5. el-Capitan

    el-Capitan Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow. I used a Mac for five years and could never figure this out. Now its sold and I'm back at Windows. Haha!
     
  6. PricklyPete

    PricklyPete Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    14,008
    Likes Received:
    7
    Once you get use to expose, you won't want to go back. You can have exposé switch between all app wi does or just the current app you are using. There is/was a cheap app called Switch that mimiced how alt-tab works on windows...but I have always liked exposé better.
     
  7. Reliant

    Reliant Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, this exact type of workflow is why I prefer OSX to Windows. Command + tilde is much easier and quicker for me than clicking with mouse in task bar. I'd say don't try to Windows up your Mac and you might have an easier time.
     
  8. QueHuong

    QueHuong Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'll try expose. But that now that requires 2 movements just to switch to a specific window: the swipe -> pause for expose to come up to show all the windows -> select the desired window. It seems to be taking longer just to do a simple thing.

    And I still prefer to use a mouse to the trackpad. Any suggestions on how I can switch windows easily without taking my hand off the mouse to swipe for expose?
     
  9. TheStu

    TheStu Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    11,781
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have extra buttons on the mouse? You can use a utility like steermouse to remap them to things like app expose.

    Or CMD+Tab and then CMD+~.
     
  10. QueHuong

    QueHuong Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll try the mouse button trick.

    I also made Mission Control (or Expose in past OS versions) a hot corner so that it'll be active when I move my mouse to the bottom left corner. I'll try and see how it gets implemented into my workflow. Other suggestions welcomed.
     
  11. TheStu

    TheStu Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    11,781
    Likes Received:
    1
    My best suggestion is actually to ditch the mouse, the trackpad is SOOOOO good on Macs. Plus gestures!
     
  12. Tegeril

    Tegeril Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate hot corners, but good luck :)
     
  13. Ns1

    Ns1 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    51,604
    Likes Received:
    44
    cmd+~
    cmd+tab
    4 finger expose

    = ultimate window management

    get an apple input device that allows for multi-touch gestures.
     
  14. TheStu

    TheStu Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    11,781
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Magic Mouse? Bump that.
     
  15. slashbinslashbash

    slashbinslashbash Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using hot corners since the first implementation of Expose. Bottom right = desktop, bottom left = show all apps/windows. The great thing is that you can click and drag on stuff, and hold onto it while you use the hot corners. Like if you need to move a document from one folder to another, you can click it, drag your mouse to the bottom right or left corner, and drop it on the desktop or in a desktop folder (desktop expose), or a folder that you already have open (all apps/windows expose).
     
  16. Hugo Drax

    Hugo Drax Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Get a magic trackpad. you will be manipulating windows like the guy in Minority report. Its bad ass, especially with 10.8

    Nothing on windows compares if your a big multitasker and have a shit load of stuff open.
     
  17. Syrome

    Syrome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Expose solves this problem like everyone else has stated in this forum.